4.18 – Revenge has many names

I’m rating this Pg-13 due to some sensitive material and a gory scene. Read at your own risk.

Screenshot

Cain’s POV

We buried Clarice. There was no sense in having a funeral if she was supposed to be dead already.
I’d read her diary and I’d found her magic book. But I hadn’t dared to open it, I had a bad feeling about it.
My dad is still in a coma. It’s already been months, the doctors are starting to pressure us. They were nice at first, but now they told us if he doesn’t wake up in a week we’ll have to set up life support for him in the house.
I feel horrible.
The anti-supernatural group have left us alone since I…somehow escaped. But this just feels like when I was a teen.
It’s the dreadful pause, where all you can do is wait before the next chapter arrives.
I feel just as powerless and just as frustrated as when I was the character named Prince. I think it’s the first time I’ve ever wished to be a supernatural. At least I could do something then.
Screenshot-2
“I can’t take this anymore Irene! Half a year ago I had Grandparents, parents, a wife, two newborn children and a distant Aunt. Now I’ve lost my grandparents, my aunt and you could say I lost my parents.”  Mom had been really spirited at first, but after two months she broke down. Since she mostly stays locked up in her room.
Screenshot-3
Irene said nothing.
“They need to pay. I tried I really did, but I can’t just sit here knowing they can kill whoever they want whenever they want. I can’t-” My voice cut off. The grief struck my heart again. I saw my grandfather dead in my arms. I saw my father get shot. I saw Clarice writhing on the ground in pain. Rage swelled in my chest.
I had one comfort.  My wife and my kids wouldn’t suffer. These were an anti-supernatural group, they only attacked supernaturals.
Screenshot-4
“Cain.” Irene said in an exhausted voice. “They’ve left us alone. Can’t you be happy with that?”
“What? Are you saying I should just let them go? After what they’ve done!?” Max shut his eyes as my voice began to climb. “They deserve to be left alone! I can’t live with myself if I know they got away with it! The police aren’t doing anything…I have to do something!” I argued with thin air.
Screenshot-5
An idea suddenly struck me. I got up. Irene barely acknowledged my movement. She just kept staring straight ahead.
Screenshot-6
I grabbed the book off the dresser.
This is a very stupid thing.
But Clarice trusted this book. She wouldn’t have given me her diary if she didn’t want me to trust the book. I’m actually surprised I had decided not to use such a useful tool.
Yeah well, look where that got her.
Yeah well, shut up conscience.
Screenshot-7
I picked up a pen and lay down my bed. The book nearly opened by itself. I stared at the blank pages for a few seconds.
Nothing happened.
I began writing on the white page:
Hello.
Hello
I was surprised to actually receive an answer! I had half believed Clarice had been slightly insane:
My name is Cain.
I don’t care for your name. What are you doing with my book?
Clarice died and told me where you were.
Of course I know that naïve white-eyed is dead. You didn’t answer my question. Why are you writing to me?
I was getting hesitant. Why was I doing this?
Good question. The book should be burned.
The book most likely holds secrets. From what Clarice wrote, it could actually see things in the future!:
I need help. Some people have wronged me and my family. Those same people killed Clarice.
Oh. The white-eyed killers.
I need to teach them a lesson. I can’t let them get away with all the murders.
Revenge. You want my help for revenge.
Revenge? I hadn’t really seen it that way.
Revenge has always been a bad thing. They teach you this when you’re young. Never immerse yourself in revenge. You’ll get nothing out of it.
But in this case I will. I’ll stop them before they can kill anyone else.:
I need to stop them from killing anyone else
I could say that it is a futile goal. But with my help you could cause some significant damage. Alright. I’ll help you kill Clarice’s murderers.
Kill was such a strong word.
Killing them makes you no better than them.
I don’t want to kill them. I just want to make it obvious that they have to stop!
Last time you tried that, Balthier ended up getting shot.
But you’ll be the only one this time.
Screenshot-8
I snapped the book shut. Those words had not only appeared on the pages of the book, but they had echoed in my skull as well. That cold rapping voice had slithered inbetween my thoughts.
Once I’ve created a connection with my reader, as long as the book is on him, I can speak to him telepathically. It is a talent I had….before my prolonged stay in this book.
That’s not right.
That’s just creepy.
But helpful. Think about it. Now you won’t be busy scribbling down replies.
I guess.
It’s still doesn’t seem right. A severe lack of privacy.
Let’s get started.
Fantastic. Go ask your mother for a premonition. A location, anything that could lead us to them.
Screenshot-9
I closed the book, put it in my pocket and walked into my parents room.
My mother was curled into the fetus position. She had her eyes closed and her chest was rising and falling rythmetically, but I could tell she was awake.
Screenshot-10
I noticed a bottle of anti-depressant pills on the dresser.
I never noticed she was this far gone.
“Mom?” I spoke.
She won’t respond. Get closer.
Screenshot-11
“Mom I need your help. I need a premonition.” I tempted. Her breathing quickened slightly.
“No.” She muttered. “No more premonitions.”
The woman is awfully traumatized. Touch her. I think it will brighten her mood.
Sounds like a trick.
Screenshot-12
I barely touched her knee that her whole body jerked. She sat up and put her hand on her head.
What just happened there?
She just had a premonition…with a little bit of help.
“Mom?”
“I saw…Cain going into a building…” She began.
“Was there any significant landmarks?”
“A huge tree…with pink leaves.” She flopped back down into fetal position.
Screenshot-13
I ran for the front door. This was great! A lead! It is weird that the lead…leads to the place where dad got shot.
Don’t go alone! That’s reckless!
You’re not alone. I’m here.
Screenshot-14
“Daddy?” Max’s little voice rose from the floor.
It’s better to stay here. Max needs you.
“Where are you going Cain?” Irene asked.
Your wife needs you. Your kids need you. Why were you running off again?
Right. I should at least tell them-
Only to have them beg you to stay? Don’t be ridiculous. Better not to let them worry.
Sure, and now no one will know where he is.
It’s foolish to waste anymore time! Who knows who else will suffer? Who else will die?
Images of all the deaths so far rose to my mind again. Rage inhabited my heart.
“I’m going to the store. I’ll be back soon.” I said.
Screenshot-15
I rushed past them.
I shouldn’t have lied.
Screenshot-16
The autumn air hit against my skin.
I shouldn’t have lied.
Screenshot-17
I couldn’t stop running, my heart filled with mixed emotions.
I’ve never lied before. I’ve never lied to Irene.
Oh get over it. What she doesn’t know won’t hurt her. You have a revenge to fulfill remember? Do you need to resee the deaths?
This is wrong!
Why are you saying that?
I was starting to doubt my decision.
Screenshot-18
But then I saw it.
It hadn’t been there before. They had actually built a building in this place.
Screenshot-19
Was this a sick joke?
It makes sense. This place is emanating a strong scary magical aura. No supernatural in their right mind would come here. This place has been marked.
Marked?
Yes. When supernaturals which a strong magical aura live in a place for a really long time they tend to leave imprints. I would certainly not want to see the supernaturals that lived here.
Makes you think…
Screenshot-20
I’m not too sure I want to do this anymore.
This feels too dangerous.
How will I know what to look for? How am I supposed to defend myself if something happens?
And that is why I am here. I was- and still am- a witch. Though this imprisonment limits my powers, you can act as a vessel.
And how will that work?
 Simply repeat the incantation I will say. First, however, enter the building.
Screenshot-21
The room was minuscule, with only a staircase. Mutters elevated from the basement.
Repeat after me. ‘The crescent moon enchants its subjects,’
I closed my eyes and recited what she had said. I did not feel my hands move on their own.
‘All that dwell beneath our feet shall succumb to its seduction’
The final words rolled off my tongue and the mutters stopped. Bodies thumped to the floor.
Off I go.
Screenshot-22
I went down the stairs.
I’ve made better spells. But they all require lots of magical energy. If I was in my human form I could cast a spell that would kill them all instantly. Ah how simple.
 Screenshot-23
I turned the corner and spotted a body on the floor.
He’s not dead is he?
Idiot, of course not. Did you not listen to the spell? It was a sleeping spell!
You didn’t say the word sleep.
I used the moon! The moon means sleep! And I even added enchant to make sure it means sleep! Now you’re wasting time. I don’t know how long this will last.
What am I searching for? I didn’t like this feeling.
I don’t belong here.
It’s up to you. Either we search every room for something to have against them, or…we kill them as we find them.
What! No!
 I thought you hated them?
I wanted to teach them a lesson. I don’t want to kill them.
Either way, move.
Screenshot-24
“You?”
The voice cut through my mind like a cold sharp winter wind.
It was her. I didn’t recognize the woman beside her, but recognized the left one. Her scar was unmistakable.
“You did this?” Her voice went up.
OH. They got here earlier than I thought they would.
I saw the guns hidden carefully in their belts. My heart suddenly froze.
I was afraid.
True I was pissed as hell, but I still cared about my own safety. This was only to find something against them, anything. I didn’t want to meet them. I’m too powerless.
I need to get out of here.
Ho ho. Come now, the fun has just started.
No I’m getting out before anything else happens. This was a mistake.
No.
I tried to turn around to leave.
I think not.
Screenshot-25
The silvery strands of her voice surrounded my mind and before I knew it, I had no more control over my body.
I’d lived through something similar before. But this was much worse. The children fairies might have controlled my body, but I could at least talk and look around. Now I was only a spectator.
“Ho ho. You’ll have to thank Clarice for me Cain. Without her magic increasing potion I probably never would’ve been able to do this.”
“What…?” I heard one of the girls mutter.
Screenshot-26
“Ooh. Fancy what I just found.” The witch cackled through my lips. A knife had appeared in between my hands.
The dark skinned girl checked her belt and realized in shock her weapon wasn’t there anymore.
You’re not going to kill them are you? And how did you do that?
“What kind of trickery is this? You’re not a supernatural!” The woman with the scar took out her gun.
“Nope. But I am.”
Don’t kill them!
Screenshot-27
The woman with the scar pulled out a gun and moved to the side.
“Don’t try anything Cain.”
“So stupid. I steal her knife and you think I can’t take away your gun?”
Don’t try to get killed either! And while you’re at it give me back my body!
“What are you complaining about? Isn’t this what you wanted?”
No! Teaching someone a lesson doesn’t mean killing them.
“Who are you talking to? We left you alone Cain, we got what we needed.”
“He’s gone insane. My back hurts just shoot him already.” The dark skinned one said.
“Since you’re so eager, why don’t you be the first.”
Don’t! She’s…pregnant?
“I’m not dumb Cain. I knew that already. But if it’ll please you…”
 Screenshot-28
My body charged forwards and slammed into the one with the gun. The witch shoved her against the wall and brought up the knife.
“I haven’t killed in so long…” The witch said, relishing the feeling.
I wanted to vomit.
“Wait no!” The pregnant one exclaimed. “Stop it! I-”
Screenshot-29
“That was a little too simple.”
Quicker than my eye could see, the witch had stabbed the woman who had killed my grandfather. The woman slumped to the floor.
The pregnant woman started to back away.
A little gurgling sound was heard.
“A baby? I didn’t hear that one.”
You’ve done enough leave already! I screamed inside my own head, shaking my mental cage.
“If you were a supernatural you would’ve already overpowered me by now.”
Screenshot-30
My body crouched in front of the little girl.
“What do you want?” The witch asked.
Don’t kill a baby! But even as I thought that I could feel something different from the witch. Confusion.
The baby giggled.
“Could you be-”
The witch never had the time to finish her sentence.
Screenshot-31
I blinked. I was on the ground in front of my house. I turned my head and saw the book on the ground. She wasn’t in my head anymore.
Screenshot-32
“Cain!” Irene came running out of the house. The dread of what had just happened fell onto my shoulders.
Screenshot-33
“I did something horrible, Irene.” I choked out.
“Oh Cain.” She laid her head on mine.
It might have been a bit confusing (yes me author talking), but whenever the writing was in italics it was in a way, Cain talking to himself. There’s no like second personality or anything.

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 4.18 – Revenge has many names

  1. brainofivane says:

    “It’s the dreadful pause, where all you can do is wait before the next chapter arrives.” – That’s kind of where I feel like I am in real life.

    This shot is so adorable: https://lightthewaytoheaven.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/screenshot-410.jpg?w=660 – Everyone looks so good. Max has got to be one of the cutest toddlers I’ve ever seen.

    Oh dear… I have a very bad feeling about this… 😦

    I feel so sorry for Angel… 😦

    Have to note how terrific your details are. Even the buildings, the lots… it’s really impressive. I’m really dumbfounded that this story doesn’t have a much larger following. It doesn’t make sense. O.o

    Whoa… What have you done, Cain? *shudders*

    Like

    • blamsart says:

      Well for once Cain could finally do something, but it was a bad move…
      Thank you! I spend a lot of time on those XD (sometimes more than I need to)
      Well I try to get more people to read, but I’m not that good at advertising.

      Like

  2. Rainie92 says:

    I totally thought there was another personality in there (I was thinking maybe its his aunt). I have now had to go read over it again and try not to have three voices in my head.
    Loving this so far sorry for not comments on any of the previous chapters/gens I’m trying to catch up. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it!
      I’m remember that XD Yeah it must be a little confusing, but the spelling in italics was meant to be Cain’s inner voice telling him what not to do and what to do.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily Anne says:

    *gasps* that was so intense!! Must. Read. On.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. *Mpart* says:

    Revenge has always been a bad thing. They teach you this when you’re young. Never immerse yourself in revenge. You’ll get nothing out of it.

    Wow…this is foreshadowing something. I know it is. I’m paranoid. I’m usually the writer killing off the characters, this is so confusing! You’re messing with my emotions! Great work…I just love everything about this generation. I will probably reread it after finishing it. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Skcaga6 says:

    Are you aware there is a tiny little smiley face at the very bottom of the page that was laughing along with the witch in the book as Cain was doing her dirty work?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Skcaga6 says:

    Oh, the book reminds me of the one in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets that had Tom Riddle controlling Ginny Weasley.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

