4.20 – The drop that overfilled his cup

Warning! Be advised blood and powerful emotional scenes (for me anywho) have been inserted into this chapter. I’m rating this Pg-13, read at your own risk.ScreenshotCain’s POV

“Cain wake up!” My mom’s worried voice pierced through the darkness.

Screenshot-2

I sat up.

“My head…”

“Cain what happened? Were you outside all night long?”

Screenshot-3

She helped me get up.

“Son, your father and I we fell asleep and I woke up to see you on the ground unconscious. What happened? Where are Irene, Sariel and Max?”

The memories flooded back to me and I was filled with dread.

Oh no.

Screenshot-4

“Damn it! They kidnapped my family!” I erupted in anger. My head spun a bit from the sudden burst of emotion but I kept my balance.

Screenshot-5

“I remember you being a little bit more composed.” A smooth melodic voice reached my ears. It couldn’t be…I spun around. It was.

My twin. Melody. I hadn’t seen her in so long.

“Well deaths can do that to you.”

Screenshot-6

“Ha you’re snappy too.” She exclaimed in surprise.

That’s right. It seems like so long ago, when we were teens and I was just following her along.

Screenshot-7

“You look like you’ve changed too.”

“Ha show business does that to you I guess.” She laughed. “Aw man, you should’ve been there Cain. Playing music for an energetic crowd, the stuff I’ve lived…Everything I ever wished for.” She hadn’t changed that much.

Screenshot-8

“I’ve missed you sis and I’d love to keep chatting, but I have a wife and two kids to find.”

Screenshot-9

Before Melody could say anything, the mother that had been shocked into silence surged forwards and grabbed her in a huge hug.

“Oh Melody! Where have you been? We’ve missed you…” My mother cried.

“Ha, I’ve missed you too mom! Didn’t you guys get my message?”

Screenshot-10

“Now you were saying Cain? You need to find some family? I’d be more than willing to help out! Believe it or not, I’ve fined my witch craft since the last time you saw me. I wouldn’t say I’m better than grandma, but I’m pretty sure I’ve surpassed dad.” I decided not to tell her the bad news yet.

Screenshot-11

“I’m sure with my witchcraft and your logic we’ll find my sister-in-law and nephews or nieces in no time at all.”

Something clicked in my mind. My logic…? I remembered the conversation I’d had with Irene. I remembered how I’d acted with violence in the last year. I’d been going at it all wrong. This is just like when I was a teen. Only logic can help me now. If I hadn’t used that book, Irene, Sariel and Max would be here right now.

Screenshot-12

“You’re right.” My mind set into gear.

Screenshot-13

“Mom I’ll need you to go call the police and tell them an anti-supernatural is in the building beside the huge pink-leaved tree and that she has hostages.” Mom nodded a bit uncertainly.

Screenshot-14

“And you come with me.” I said as I dragged my sister away.

“Wait at least tell me what’s going on!” She complained as she followed me.

Screenshot-15

And that’s what I did. As we ran I explained what we were going to do.

I explained to her the situation with the anti-supernaturals. I told her how a scarred woman had killed our grandfather on the same day grandma passed away. I told her how dad had been shot and how they’d discovered about Clarice being a white-eyed. I told her about my kidnapping and the mysterious way I was saved. A mystery I had yet to solve. I explained about Clarice’s findings and the magic book. I told her about the horrible mistake I made.

I told her that the police had caught an anti-supernatural and that had probably made the whole anti-supernatural community to be cautious and to hide themselves away. I was certain that the one who’d kidnapped my family was the pregnant woman I had seen when the witch killed the scarred woman. I had gotten shivers from simply looking at her. I had no doubt she was insane as hell. She probably was very close friends with the murderer of our grandfather. And she was probably mad with revenge.

She had been pregnant last time I’d seen, I think she waited till she gave birth before executing her revenge. I have no doubt she’ll be the only one in this crime. The others would have been smart enough to melt into society for another few years. After all they were an anti-supernatural group, they had no need to take humans hostages.

No I just had the luck to have that woman in our town.

The main mystery was why she was so damaged. It couldn’t only be the death of the scarred woman. She probably had a traumatic event happen to her in her past.

I asked Melody whether she could amplify someone’s memory once they were thinking about it. She nodded like it was no big deal. She asked why we were going anyway if mom was calling the police.

I replied that we needed to stall. If my hunches were correct this woman was insane and impatient. I would be lucky if she hadn’t done anything to them yet. And if we wait for the police to come, it might trigger something inside of her that makes her kill my family just before the police seizes her. No I need to make sure nothing happens to them.

Screenshot-16

“Okay we’re here.” I took a deep breath. “Ready?” Melody nodded. “Just let me do the talking. I’ll tell you when to start the spell.”

Screenshot-17

I went down the ladder.

“You know I’m losing patience…I could start cutting you to pieces now. Would serve as a nice surprise for that murderer.” A perversed voice came up from under me.

Screenshot-18

“Hey don’t touch mom!” Max shouted.

“Oh god mom!” Sariel’s quivering voice reached my ears. They looked fine, but there was another toddler behind them.

“Kids!” I ran over.

Screenshot-19

“Dad, you have to save mom!” Max exclaimed.

My heart nearly ripped apart at the sight of my wife tied up and bleeding.

The woman turned to me with a bored expression. “Oh so you’ve finally joined us.”

“Yes, now if you don’t mind I’ll take my family home.” I said, mostly to keep myself calm. I heard Melody come down the ladder.

Screenshot-20

She burst out into a maniacal fit of laughter.

“Let them go? Unscathed!? I’ve waited too long to give birth to your ridiculous baby to let them leave!”

Screenshot-21

“What…?” I found myself murmuring. My baby?

“Haha! Yes! Look at that thing right there!” She  laughed.

Screenshot-22

I did look. And in between Sariel and Max was a little black-haired girl who looked exactly like her mother. I wish I could deny that she was related to me in any way shape or form, but those eyes….Those were my mother’s eyes. She was a supernatural.

Screenshot-23

I turned back to her. I was having a lot of trouble keeping my temper down.

“Haha! I just put her in with the lot. She’s your filthiness after all.”

“That’s not possible.” I snapped. I hadn’t touched the woman.

“Well why the hell do you think we kidnapped you? To give your wife a fright? No, we thought if you had that ability a child of yours would to. BUT SHE TURNED INTO A FREAKING SUPERNATURAL.”

“Kids run.” I told Sariel and Max. As they moved a foot the woman backed up to Irene.

“Don’t move! Or she’ll have it!” She cackled. The kids froze.

Screenshot-24

It explained why they hadn’t moved yet. Arg! What do I do now?

I spotted Melody in the corner of my eye and remembered my original thought process. Okay think. What could possibly have traumatized this woman…

Screenshot-25

“Wait so you’re ready to kill your own child? For some petty revenge?” I tried. It seemed to be the most likely route.

“Children are just tools!” She spat gripping her knife tightly.

Screenshot-26

“Says who?” I asked as calmly as I could without looking at my wife.

Screenshot-27

Her whole face twitched in anger before she deliberately looked away.

“STOP TALKING. This is not the point of you coming here!” She strangled out gripping the dagger tightly.

A spark of panic ignited in front of me. Now was not the time for her to lash out. I signaled Melody.

Screenshot-28

“Wow who’s that?” Max asked to Sariel. She was too frightened to respond.

Melody came out of hiding and began chanting her spell.

“What? A witch?” The woman frowned, looking really surprised.

Screenshot-29

She brought her hands to her head.

“Haha…what is this?” She laughed weakly.

Screenshot-30

“Oh god, stop it make it stop.” She whimpered as the images kept playing in her head. It was working! All she needed to do was walk away from Irene. The police were going to be here soon.

Screenshot-31

“I said stop it!” She screeched.

And then she bent down and stabbed Irene.

Screenshot-32

“Mom!” Max let out. But I didn’t hear him. Nor did I hear Sariel let out a whimper.

Screenshot-33

All I could hear was Irene’s pained scream and the last breath that left her lips.

My heart stopped.

My body froze. I couldn’t move a muscle.

Screenshot-34

The woman slumped to the floor crying, holding her head and repeating: “Stop it, make it stop.”

I didn’t feel any joy that we’d managed to break her. I didn’t feel anything. I didn’t hear the loud banging of the door as the cops came in. I was just waiting for her chest to lift.

But it never did.

Screenshot-35

At some point my feet left the ground and I crouched beside her. I shook her gently, called her name, kissed her forehead, touched her hands, but she never responded.

She never responded.

*hugs Cain* I’m sorry Cain, I’m sorry I did that to you.

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 4.20 – The drop that overfilled his cup

  1. Gee, Cain doesn’t have a very nice life.

    Like

  2. brainofivane says:

    Ooooh… Melody’s back! It’s good to see a reunion between the two. But Irene and the twins… 😥 Where are they?

    Oh please… I hope nobody dies in Cain’s family… T_T

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!! 😥 Why?

    There should be some tribute video or something… anything… This made me really really sad… Why are you doing this?!

    Makes me want to write fanfiction on this thing and give them an alternative ending – one that doesn’t make Cain’s life so bloody miserable. O.o

    So so so sad…

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Oh Cain! I’m so sorry for killing Irene 😥
      Ah an alternate universe where he gets to live happily after…He’s my first heir not to have his happily ever after with his soulmate.
      *continuously says sorry to Cain*

      Like

  3. Moon Mirage says:

    Cain is like the sim version of bad luck brian.

    This story is awesome bt dubs!

    Like

  4. Livvielove says:

    So, I fully admit to crying a little (a lot) during this chapter. Poor Cain… poor darling Cain…
    (Just a note, I’m a lot further along than this, but I wanted to go back through and add my few comments here and there, because I know it’s nice to see how people feel).
    This is by far one of my favorite storylines, but it makes me so sad that Cain lost his Sariel! I really, really loved him and her together.
    This chapter was so touching and heartbreaking. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Livvielove says:

      Whoops whoops whoops, meant Irene. Sorry, My brain is really not here today. XD I shouldn’t be allowed to comment right now.

      Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Thank you!
      If you’ve passed this, that means you’ve long passed my ‘rereading for all them grammar errors’ point so be warned XD
      *hugs cain* his generation was a really pivoting point for this legacy. He set the bar high for the others.
      Thanks so much for commenting! I’m going to have fun reading them all 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my god….At the beginning of this chapter I feared that Irene would be lost, but I held out hope that she’d be spared and she wasn’t….god, she wasn’t. No. His shining light…from the moment he met her trapped in the child faerie’s playhouse. She was always there with a smile and her colorful paintings. No, no, no =(

    And what the ever living HELL? So when they had him kidnapped they sexually assaulted him too? Trauma after trauma after trauma. I’m sick to my stomach for Cain. This is far and above too much T_T Gahhhhhhh. Who would have thought that a generation that began with so much color would have come to such a lifeless, faded ending? T_________T

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      *cries from emotion all over again*
      My poor poor Cain
      You’re making me reread my chapters for the hell of it and it still hurts after 3 years

      Liked by 1 person

      • AS IT SHOULD.

        But no really, my heart literally hurts right now. Gahhhhhh. But that’s indicative of good writing. If it wasn’t well written, I wouldn’t feel so connected to Cain and his story. It’s because you’ve done so well with this that it hurts so bad. Poor, poor Cain indeed T_T

        Liked by 1 person

  6. *Mpart* says:

    WHAT HAVE YOU DONE? NO!! NO!! WHY? WHY? NO!! DAMN IT!! NO!! This is destroying me….

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Skcaga6 says:

    I am really glad you do not write my life story. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

