5.8 – Coming together (Part 1)

ScreenshotSariel’s POV

I have a few days off piled up I could use. I think I need a day off with my kid. I’ve been working non-stop since a few days after her birth. What with the second job and all.

Screenshot-2

With that in mind I called up the job I was supposed to work this afternoon.

Screenshot-3

Okay well it’s mostly because I can’t afford a babysitter. I called yesterday and the prices are way too high. If I hire a babysitter to take care of her I won’t have any money for food. I tried to negotiate a price, but they said my price would be good enough for an incompetent good for nothing kid. Which they did not have in their company. I’d checked the paper for some random teenage babysitter, but it seemed there weren’t a lot of those in this town.

Screenshot-4

“Come on sweet, you’re gonna take a walk with mommy.”

Screenshot-5

My daughter is an absolute cutie pie. She has a curious smell about her, and she smiles…oh wow when she smiles my whole world lights up. I don’t know what it is, but the moment she smiles at me my day gets better.

I thought it would be harder. I do barely get enough sleep, I do come home from work absolutely worn out and exhausted, but somehow that little smile makes it all better. She wakes me up in the middle of the night, but once I’ve changed her diaper or fed her, she laughs and gives me this fantastic smile.

When I get off from work I’m excited to go see her so she can smile at me and make me feel all better inside.

Screenshot-6

I sure hope she keeps smiling.

“Oh, now that I think about it…I need to buy food.” I thought aloud. “We’ll just have to start the day with that then.”

Screenshot-7

“I haven’t had tomatoes in a while, we should see if they have some on sale. Maybe some cucumbers as well. I read that mac and cheese were at the right price yesterday.” I started talking.

Screenshot-8

I tended to talk a lot to my little girl. She was the best listener I’d ever met! She’d sometimes gargle when I asked a question, almost as if she wanted to answer. It almost felt like I carried on nice long conversations with my daughter.

Screenshot-9

Legacy Island II is a nice town. I haven’t really met a lot of people apart from my work colleagues. Apparently the streets used to be streaming with tourists, but something happened and well, the town isn’t as appealing anymore.

Screenshot-10

There’s something I’ve never seen in a town before, that this town has. The groceries have free delivery service, so when all was bought and done they told me they’d bring the food down by tonight. I didn’t need to carry anything!

Screenshot-11

“Hey, why don’t we go spend some time at the park?” I asked my little girl. She burbled in response.

Screenshot-12

I hadn’t had the time to explore the town yet, the jobs and caring for my baby kept me way too occupied.

Screenshot-13

“The answer isn’t 42, its 65. That makes three errors on the answer sheet.” I heard a little boy’s voice from around the corner. Hearing it the cute bundle in my arms starting to play with her blanket.

Screenshot-14

When the boy heard my baby’s little gurgling sounds he quickly put away his homework and got up.

“A baby!”

Screenshot-15

I barely had any chance to greet him that he had run over and made a silly face. My little girl laughed.

Screenshot-16

“Hi, I’m Peter!” He introduced himself.

“Hi Peter.”

“Sorry for just jumping on you like that, I just love babies! They’re so tiny and cute! And don’t worry I won’t hurt your baby because I have a baby sister, so I know how to take care of babies.” He quickly added. I smiled. He seemed like a nice enough boy. I quickly scanned the park for his parents. I didn’t see them.

Screenshot-17

“You were doing your homework in the park?”

“Well yeah, I like the outdoors a lot. And it’s hard to concentrate with my new baby brother crying a lot of the time. I just turned 12 and I have to have good grades so I can get a good job, but mom said I could find myself a job if I wanted to get some experience.” This boy could talk!

Screenshot-18

“Did you find any?” I like listening to him.

“Nope. I tried a lot of things, but I wasn’t really good at any, I just discovered I’m really good at taking care of babies though, because I take care of my little brother every morning and every time I come back from school! But I can’t put an ad in the paper because it costs money and not a lot of people have babies and my mom doesn’t count as a job experience.”

Screenshot-19

“Well you’re in luck. I’m looking for a babysitter.” I said.

“Yes! Thank you!” The boy quickly pulled out his notebook and scribbled a phone number on it. “Here’s my mom’s phone number, I have to go now, but you can call me to babysit on weekends!” He handed me the paper and ran off.

Seems a little bit odd to be asking a 12 year old boy to babysit my not-even-a-month-old daughter, but he seemed really capable and trustworthy.

***

Screenshot-20

“I think you’ll have a lot of fun with Peter tomorrow Mincia.” I told my girl. “I mean, if he can make you laugh he’s already better than what that babysitting company had to offer.”

Mincia let out a little sigh of exhaustion.

Screenshot-21

I called Peter an hour ago and we arranged a price that was perfect for the both us. It’s a little higher than what I was originally going for, but to be honest that was kind of low.

Everything feels like it’s coming together. It’s weird, but I really feel like I could get used to this. Not being around my family.

I still miss them though.

Merry belated Christmas and Happy new year! 2014!

I’m feeling pretty tired, so the chapters won’t come out as often (still within a two-week period)

So, Sariel had a little girl named Mincia :D, and she’s found herself a babysitter who has a yappy little mouth XD.

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5.8 – Coming together (Part 1)

  1. I’ve finally caught up. I can’t wait to see if Sariel is reunited with her family!

    Also, whatever happened to Max the alien baby?

    Like

    • blamsart says:

      Hmm not much. He was a complete and total accident and I didn’t like the stories i had planned for him so I sent him into town to live his own life.
      If I remember correctly he never had any children and ended up marrying this old hag XD.
      Thanks for reminding me, I just realized I named Max after a distant alien relative…

      Like

  2. brainofivane says:

    “I don’t know what it is, but the moment she smiles at me my day gets better.” – *breath of relief* That’s some form of happiness at least…

    Okay… thanks to this chapter for giving me a ray of hope for Sariel and Mincia.

    Advanced merry Christmas (2014) and Happy new year! 2015!

    Like

Leave a Reply

