6.7 – Hidden behind the veils of deception

Oh my what is this? A chapter so quick? Seems I was really inspired…

Result: Plead for Kevil’s sake

ScreenshotZyla’s POV

I felt guilty, and not only because I nearly killed Simon, but because I got Kevil in trouble. I didn’t even know he was supposed to check Eliott and I’s drinking, but it doesn’t change the fact that he’s going to be punished for something he didn’t have control over. I’m the one who shouldn’t have waited so long. The moment I felt thirsty, I should’ve drank some plasma juice. Kevil didn’t do anything wrong.

I needed to tell this to Blams. When I overheard her yelling at him…I have no idea what she’s going to do to him, but it didn’t sound too good.

Screenshot-2

Just as I was opening the door, I had the surprise of seeing Rehal standing outside. Miranda was nowhere in sight.

“Are you okay?” Rehal asked as he walked in. That’s right, I remember he was there too when Kevil pulled me off Simon. When I acted like a hungry animal.

“I’m fine. I’m happy Simon is okay.” He really shouldn’t be worrying about me, I really wasn’t the victim here. If I remember correctly, didn’t he almost try to free me from Kevil’s hold? Why would he do that?

I don’t know exactly what triggered this, but for reason I blurted it out.

“I like you Rehal, in that way.”

My cheeks flushed an instant red and I looked away. I can’t believe I said that!

“I know.” He said with a little smile.

Was this good? Or was it bad?

Screenshot-3

“And I’m sorry for stringing you along, I wasn’t sure how to tell you.”

“Oh, you don’t feel the same way…” I muttered as it hit me. Boy, now I feel like I’ve made a fool of myself.

“Sorry.” Rehal said apologizing again.

“Can I ask why?” I tempted.

“Well…I’m gay.”

Screenshot-4

…What? Here I was, preparing myself for whatever horrible flaw Rehal was going to point out and he says this. A smile crept up on my face. That meant it really had nothing to do with me!

“Oh, so we can still be friends!” I exclaimed. Rehal smiled at my answer.

“Of course.”

“Wait…are you and Kevil…?” I asked.

Screenshot-5

Rehal burst out laughing.

“Oh god no! Not only is Kevil straight, but him and me…never. I could never see that happening.”

I laughed along, feeling slightly ridiculous.

Screenshot-6

“I have a small request, as a friend.” Rehal asked once we’d calmed down. “Could you please refrain from controlling me in the future?”

My face grew serious.

“Controlling you?”

“Yeah, remember? When Kevil pulled you off Simon, you controlled Miranda and I so we’d help you.”

My eyes widened. I did what? I controlled them? Could it be the power the King was talking about? Then why wasn’t Kevil affected? I clearly remember him preventing Rehal from helping me out. Could it be his white eyes had something to do with it?

Wait! Kevil of course!

“I’ll try. Rehal can you tell me where Blams, I mean the Queen, is?”

Screenshot-7

“No sorry.”

“Ok…well do you know where Kevil is?”

“No, but now that I think about it, you two could hit it off.” Rehal said with a small smirk.

“What?” I asked frowning. “No, it’s not for that.” I replied quickly once I’d realized the meaning behind his words. I can’t believe he’s thinking of setting me up with someone else when I just got rejected by him.

“Well, whatever it is, you could ask your aunt and uncle. Diella and Kord. They usually are the ones who know what goes on in this house.”

Screenshot-8

After I thanked Rehal, I headed over to where he said he’d last seen them.

Kevil and me? As a couple? Nah, I don’t know where Rehal got such a weird idea.

Screenshot-9

I awkwardly waited for them to stop kissing.

I find my aunt and uncle a bit…eccentric. My uncle rarely speaks, and he asks like nobody exists apart from him and Diella. Diella is a bit more talkative and tends to order me around. I often see her talking walks out during the day instead of sleeping. Then when she comes back in she complains about the sun. The sun is steadily becoming more painful on my vampire skin, so I can’t imagine how much it would hurt on a vampire much much more older than me. I actually think she’s lived for a 100 years.

Screenshot-10

I cleared my throat.

“Um, Aunt Diella? Do you know where the Queen is?”

Diella looked at her husband.

“Have you seen your brother’s wife?”

“She’s with the second warrior.” He replied, not showing any signs of acknowledging my presence.

Screenshot-11

“Do you know where they are?” I asked.

“In the basement Princess.” Aunt Diella said as if I should’ve known. “It’s where everyone is punished.”

Right now? She’s punishing him right now?

Screenshot-12

“Thanks.” I mumbled before hurrying down the stairs.

“She still hasn’t learned her manners.” I heard aunt Diella say before I reached the bottom of the stairs.

I hope I can get there in time. I don’t know why, but I have a really bad feeling about this.

Screenshot-13

I headed for the elevator Blams had me take to go see my grandpa. I remember it takes me to the basement and there are several doors down there before the next elevator.

I could’ve headed for the stairs I used to follow Simon, but that looked a lot like a dead end.

Screenshot-14

What could Blams do to Kevil? I know she’s already yelled at him, but she’s not the type to use violence to teach a lesson. Right?

Screenshot-15

How well do I know Blams? I shook the thought away. The right question right now would be: what door is the right one?

I didn’t have to ponder long as I heard a door knob turning.

Screenshot-16

The door nearest to the elevator opened and the two walked out.

Screenshot-17

I stared in surprise as I saw the gash on Kevil’s face. That, and the small smile Blams gave him as she told him something I couldn’t hear. The word sadistic came to mind.

I was too late.

Screenshot-18

Once Blams finished talking, Kevil went straight for the elevator. It almost looked like Kevil had seen me, but if he had I couldn’t tell if he was mad at me or not.

“Ah! Zyla!” Blams exclaimed as she noticed me.

Screenshot-19

“What you…did you do that to him? Why did you do that?” I asked, finally able to get my words out.

“Zyla, Zyla. It’s the only way he’ll learn. He was raised to be disciplined like this. There’s nothing we can do.”

I didn’t believe a word she said. She didn’t sound like she regretted it at all.

Screenshot-20

“Oh, don’t give me that face. I had to punish someone. You should just be happy it wasn’t you.”

I should just be…? This isn’t the Blams I know. Was she really always this type of person?

Screenshot-21

“What did you tell him? Where did he go?” I demanded.

“Dear, I know you’re the Princess, but that doesn’t mean I, the Queen, need to tell you everything that’s going on.”

I glared at her. I didn’t like her methods. I didn’t like most of what I saw in this house. It really was about time someone changed this. Blams sighed.

“But if it makes you feel better; I sent him up to see the emperor. I think sending him on a little mission will do him some good.”

Screenshot-22

“But don’t worry he should be back before my baby is born.” She said

I glanced at the elevator.

“I wouldn’t try to go see him. He probably hates you now.” Blams casually said.

I guess I’ll have to wait till he comes back before I can apologize. I looked down as the guilt gnawed inside.

All because I was too stubborn to drink some plasma juice.

***

Screenshot-23

A week later, I talked to my big sister. When I called home to talk to my dad, she was the one to answer. She was extremely happy to hear from me and when I asked her where she’d gone she told me it was a long story. She said she’d been kidnapped and almost killed on thousands of occasions. She talked about how she got caught up in a game of kill or be killed with Michael and Peter. She counted the story of Peter’s death and the one of the romantic relationship she developped with Michael. When she was done telling me about the werewolf clan she’d found and become a part of, she asked me about my story.

Screenshot-24

I didn’t have much to say. So I simply told her I lived as a vampire princess, and I was having a little bit of a hard time adjusting.

I learned that William still hadn’t been found and as expected, Mincia asked me why I hadn’t come home yet. Why I wouldn’t come home.

After she rejected the idea that I might accidently drain them of all their blood, I told her I didn’t want to see mom. I thought, since she’d developed this anger towards her that she would understand, but instead she rejected that reason too.

No matter how much I tried to justify she kept telling me it wasn’t a good reason. That I had no reason for not visiting. I ended up threatening I wouldn’t call again if they kept pressuring me to come back.

Screenshot-25

Once I finally got it in my head that Rehal was clearly only going to be a friend, I found another friend in Miranda. She was someone I became able to confide in. She’s an amazing listener. I do most of the talking.

I never did go see Simon. I heard he’d finally gotten back on his feet at some point, but I hadn’t seen him since. I hadn’t even smelled him since. I didn’t bother looking for him though, I don’t think I could face him.

And either way, I was way too preoccupied with Kevil. I kept waiting for him to come back, to at least let him know I was sorry. I didn’t want him to hate me. I missed him. I missed his lessons on vampires, and I missed trying to decipher whatever emotion he was feeling.

Screenshot-26

I wasn’t dumb. Time passed and my thirst came again and again in shorter intervals. Whenever my throat started feeling parched or I’d smell the blood of Arianne as she walked past, I’d go down to the kitchen to get myself a plasma juice.

Pregnant Blams was never alone. She always found a way to make sure she was surrounded by at least one person. I don’t know if the pregnancy was causing that, but it annoyed the hell out of me. Not only was I developing a different view of Blams, but she just kept talking and talking about useless things.

Screenshot-27

As Blams’ pregnancy progressed I got to officially meet the ghost named Lilith. She claimed to be one of the first of the gold family. She was second born and she was killed by her big brother for the throne. She doesn’t know herself how she came to be a wandering ghost and she seems to have a strong attachment to Rehal. She rarely shows herself if he isn’t there.

She claimed to have no other purpose than to guide us, but she really just seems to have fun watching us.

Screenshot-28

The more Blams’ due date sped forwards, the more Eliott became…scary. It’s weird to say this about Eliott, but he scares me now. He’s always thinking deeply about something, and I haven’t seen him smile in a very long while. I can tell something annoys him, like a bug flying around his head.

I asked him once, what was wrong, and all he did was ask me a question in turn: “Do you think that child will want to be king?”

My first thought was: Eliott isn’t that type of person. He’s not the type to be obsessed with such a trivial thing that barely even possesses a threat to him having access to power. But then I remembered Blams.

Eliott should be better than that, but I guess that’s a lot to ask from people.

Screenshot-29

It was a month before Blams’ due date that I began to worry. Had Kevil died? Had Blams lied in saying he’d come back before she gave birth? I’d only talked once or twice about Kevil to Miranda. There wasn’t much to say apart from the fact that I felt horribly guilty.

“Don’t you think it’s worrying?” I asked Miranda one day. “The new baby will be here in only a month and Kevil still hasn’t come back. Even thought the Queen said he would.”

“You sound like you don’t know.” The face I gave Miranda let her know that I, indeed, didn’t know. “Kevil should be back in two or three weeks. He was sent on a recon mission by the Emperor.”

“Really?” A smile spread across my face. It’s too bad I didn’t know about this till now, but I felt better knowing it. Just two or three more weeks.

Screenshot-30

“Oh, I just remembered, I need to tell you about my lastest phone call home. Mincia-”

“You know what?” Miranda interrupted me. “Let me give you a piece of advice. Go home! Say hi to your old family and put your mind at rest!” She exclaimed.

“I…” I couldn’t find a reason not to. The shock of Miranda giving me advice had me a bit paralyzed. She’d only listened until now. And she looked a little tired of hearing me rant about my stubborn selfish little problem.

Screenshot-31

Either I missed walking outside or I let myself be convinced, but in the end I was walking towards my old home.

I guess…the sooner I deal with this the better, right?

Screenshot-32

I walked in the cold night air and felt as at ease as when I’d been a child lying under the sun. I don’t mind sleeping during the day, the night is much more beautiful.

I hadn’t left that house in… a long time. How long have I been living there? A year? Maybe even more? I can’t believe I didn’t count!

Something caught my eye. My nose instinctively sniffed the air and I caught the faint scent of human blood. I blocked my nose with hands, but I didn’t feel hungry or anything. I did drink plasma juice this morning. I should be good.

I kept walking.

Screenshot-33

As much as I tried to ignore the human walking, my eyes kept drifting back to the person. Now that I think about it, it would be weird for a natural to be walking around here. It’s way too close to where I live.

There was something familiar about this natural as well…

Screenshot-34

I focused my eyes until I had a clearer image. That blue hair…could it be…?

Screenshot-35

I ran towards him. Was it really William? What was he doing here? Where had he been? The closer I got the more I couldn’t deny the fact that it looked exactly like him. An older version of him of course.

Screenshot-36

“William!” I exclaimed. But my little brother raised a hand towards in a signal to stop.

Don’t come any closer vampire!” He snapped.

Screenshot-37

“William?” I asked uncertainly.

Shut up Will I’ve got this!” My brother said to…himself? “Of course I know who she is! Doesn’t change the fact she’s a vampire!

Screenshot-38

“William are you-”

Will you stop it?” William snapped at me. “I’m obviously in the middle of a conversation. Shut up Will, I’m aware that I look like a crazy person.

Screenshot-39

No I am very happy right now! Don’t you dare take over!

I looked around a bit awkwardly. I’m pretty sure my brother’s gone crazy.

Well I don’t want them to have a happy reunion! We were on a mission weren’t we?

Screenshot-40

Ugh whatever.” William let out before closing his eyes. When he opened them again it was almost as if he’d completely changed. “Zyla?” He asked, looking genuinely surprised to see me.

Screenshot-41

“William? Are you okay now?” I asked, tentatively stepping forwards.

“Oh, you just met Liam.”

Okay, my brother has gone crazy.

“It’s a weird story try not to think about it.” He said.

Screenshot-42

“Where have you been? What happened to you? Have you gone home yet? Dad was worried sick.”

“I’m sure he was. I ran away from home Zyla and don’t try to talk me out of or into anything. I’m done with that family.” William said.

“But William, can’t you at least let them you’re alive? Mom is awake too. Mincia came back. It’d make everyone happy if you went and at least said hi.” I argued.

“No stop it Zyla. I have stuff to do. I don’t have time for petty family issues. It was nice to see you.” He gave me a quick smile before closing his eyes.

Screenshot-43

Haha that went well!” I’m guessing this is Liam. “Guess William doesn’t like you as much as you thought eh vampire?

“Can I talk to William again?” I didn’t expect my reunion with my brother to turn out like this.

Screenshot-44

I suggest you stop with the fake worry.

I frowned. “I’m not-”

Oh of course you’re not thinking that way. Of course living and being friendly with the very vampires that kidnapped your brother and drank his blood means you truly worry about him.” He smirked.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.” Nobody would’ve done that.

Screenshot-45

Thank you Will, I thought that was a real nice deduction too. Look vampire, if you really do care about your brother try to examine all the people in that huge house and think about what you really know about them. About what they do behind the shadows, stuff that is causing us a lot of trouble.” He stated.

I tried to find the words to protest, but there was nothing I could think of that would prove otherwise. There was only evidence that supported his words.

Screenshot-46

I was just thinking the same thing Will.” My brother said as he turned around and walked away. “Werewolves don’t like vampires.

He was leaving just like that. I didn’t want my brother to leave. I wanted him to stay with me, I wanted to know exactly who’d kidnapped him and what vampire dared to drink his blood. Even more I wanted to help him with this problem he had. A multiple personality can’t be healthy.

And then boom, end of chapter. Oh sweet William you entertain me so XD

Basement:

Screenshot-57

First floor:

Screenshot-57

Second floor:

Screenshot-59

Third floor:

Screenshot-51

Very many things were revealed in this chapter, bask in the overload of information! I don’t know if you all remember in the very last chapter of Sariel’s generation, when William got kidnapped we clearly saw it was Rehal and Kevil who’d done the deed, so this information shouldn’t surprise anyone…

For the curious:

Plead for Kevil’s sake (current result)

Go see Simon (deepens relationship with Simon)

Stay and wallow in self-hate (discover a secret passage…)

Go to the pool to get mind off things (Simon dies)

Even the most innocent of choices people, can lead to disastrous consequences. Choose well!

 

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 6.7 – Hidden behind the veils of deception

  1. Rainie92 says:

    I’m getting very interested in what is on that third floor!?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEE, SEE?!?!?! THIS PUTS ALL MY SUSPICIONS TOGETHER!! Of course I don’t like Rehal….HE WAS THE ONE WHO NEARLY KILLED WILLIAM. HE WAS THE ONE WHO BIT HIM. I mean I realize Kevil was involved in that debacle too, but he didn’t try to help Rehal–HE LET WILLIAM ESCAPE. See, SEEEEEEEEE? Wait, why am I saying “see” to you when you’re the one who wrote this? LOL. Help. I’m in too deep. This story. IT HAS ITS FANGS IN MY BRAINNNNNNN. ….see what I did there? 😉

    Anyway, I desperately hope Kevil is okay and I’m REALLY wondering what William, Will, and Liam are up to. They mentioned some sort of mission? I’m glad people chose follow him because I NEED TO KNOW!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily Anne says:

    Very, very interesting concept using the polling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

