8.3 – Violence is an answer

Violence is an answer, just not THE answer.

Warning: Language

Screenshot

There were no words to fully express the shame the father felt at seeing his son kiss another boy. True, being gay was not strictly a ‘bad’ thing or even commonly frowned upon…in an average family’s life. However this man had been raised in a more ‘enriched’ environment and there a man was supposed to marry a woman, have a family with a woman, and raise his kids with a woman all while reaching the top of his career.

Having a boy who liked other boys was not an option for the father. The family’s reputation would be annihilated if anyone found out.

 Screenshot-2

From then on, Edmund was forbidden from seeing his friend. His workload increased ten folds and it seemed like nothing he could do would ease his father’s anger.

Most importantly Edmund never understood why. His father attempted a few times to explain it to his son, but his anger took over when he realized his son truly couldn’t see what was wrong in it.

So, Edmund’s father decided to hope it was a one-time thing – a unique occurrence. When Edmund’s friend tried to visit once, the father finally decided it was time they moved away. A clean slate, a new start. What had happened in the past could be forgotten.

And so they packed up and left to go to Legacy Island II.

 Screenshot-3

There Edmund went to a new school and didn’t have any trouble making some new friends. One in particular, a boy named Xavier whom Edmund had taken quite a liking to. Even though he had unfortunately lost a precious friendship he could see himself have a similar one with this boy.

And then his father asked for a detailed account of what his son had done at school and who he had met.

 Screenshot-4

Edmund’s father noticed this liking he had towards Xavier and he had heard from some of Edmund’s friends that a lot of people were pretty sure Xavier liked boys.

And when the father asked his son if he thought this Xavier could be like his old friend and received a definitive yes, he snapped. He yelled at his son in rage and Edmund finally understood what he’d done wrong. He finally understood why his father never smiled at him anymore or why he would sometimes get so angry he’d get hit.

 Screenshot-5

And so, admittedly scared of not only moving away again but also of how mad his father could get, Edmund did the only thing he could think of. He turned on Xavier and made sure he would stay away from him, that way they would never be friends. If they were his father would only get angrier.

When his father received a call from a teacher commenting on how his son was bullying a boy named Xavier at school…he could not hold back his joy. He had finally gotten through to his son and Edmund noticed his father’s sudden happiness.

It was not satisfaction or joy, but relief that washed over Edmund when his father finally praised him. As long as Edmund kept his grades high enough, behaved at home and most importantly acted as ‘manly’ as expected his father was content.

***

Screenshot-6

Erin’s POV

Home.

I’d just come back from Xavier’s house. His felt like home…

My house? More like going inside a stranger’s backyard. It’s awkward, embarrassing and above all it feels like I don’t belong.

Screenshot-7

I climbed up the rickety old steps. A subject that had already caused a lot of problems between my parents. Just like the broken sink in the bathroom, the badly kept yard, and the rotten balcony.

I tried to concentrate on the sounds of the little insects chittering about around our house and not the shouting I could already faintly hear inside.

Screenshot-8

I reached for the front door, but my hand shot back instantly when I heard a huge crash inside. Mom had probably thrown some dishes again. Either that or dad had gotten angry and thrown his bottle.

They were obviously occupied with themselves, if I hurried up I could reach my room before either could give a damn about me.

Screenshot-9

So that’s what I did. I opened the door and ran inside without making eye contact with my parents who were now screaming their lungs off. Insults and curses were thrown back and forth and dad punched the wall before I opened the door to my room and slipped inside.

Screenshot-10

I closed the door behind me and took a few seconds to calm myself. I stayed there as I heard mom shout at dad to get the hell out. There was some more shouting before the front door slammed shut.

Then there was silence. That was probably scarier than having to listen to my parents yell death threats at each other. I waited until I heard my mom open the cupboards and sit down. Most likely to down a few drinks.

I let out a small breath. It was either that or she called me out to spend some quality mother daughter time.

I don’t really like my family. Things would be a lot easier for me if I was a witch like Xavier. I’d have so many more options, but…that’s not the case.

Screenshot-11

I pushed myself off the wall and headed for my most recent favorite past time. One I didn’t want my parents knowing about. A rag hung in the middle of the room isn’t a great way to hide stuff, I admit. However my parents never come inside my room for some reason, so this is just a commodity.

I found this treasure on the internet through pure luck and at a nice price. Not very surprising since anything supernatural related is pretty much going out of ‘fashion’.

Screenshot-12

I got myself a brewing station as it’s called. It even came with a fancy recipe book!

I’m not really that talented when it comes to making magical potions…actually I haven’t yet made a successful one! But there are a lot of different things I can make with this station…things some people are willing to pay for.

And that is how I’m going to get out of here. With cash overflowing in my pockets and a f*ck you at my parents.

Certainly not by deciding to be a brave little girl by telling daddy and mommy that what they’re doing isn’t very nice.

***

Screenshot-13

Xavier’s POV

I don’t know how I get myself into these situations. It really feels like bad luck sometimes.

“Give me reflexes.” I muttered while releasing some magic. I’ve been wanting to try another spell to see if it would work. And well, I don’t need to give myself courage anymore.

“Hey! We’re talking to you!” An annoyed Oliver said as he grabbed my shoulder to spin me around.

Screenshot-14

But I’m tired of being pushed around. I hit his arm away as harshly as I could.

“Screw off and leave me alone will you?” I snapped at a very surprised Oliver.

This was the first time they’d ‘officially’ bullied me since I’d confronted Edmund three days ago. They sure hadn’t stopped picking on me in class. It was obvious Edmund hadn’t relayed the message, so I needed to make it clear that I was done with this cr*p.

Edmund suddenly stepped forwards and reached out to give me a nice shove backwards.

Screenshot-15

But the spell had kicked in and I easily dodged it. Much to my surprise actually.

Edmund stumbled forwards, carried by his own momentum.

I wanted to do a little fist pump for actually having avoided that, but I was afraid of what Edmund was going to do.

Screenshot-16

With good reason!

Looking pissed off beyond reason Edmund swung at me and I just narrowly missed being hit by his punch.

I quickly backed away from him. I was actually surprised at this sudden burst of anger and it didn’t really feel like I was the one who’d managed to make him that angry.

Screenshot-17

All thought was suddenly thrown out of my head as Edmund’s fist connected with my face. The spell had worn off too quickly and my face was already beginning to sting.

Edmund didn’t look like he was going to stop with just a punch though. He was still angry enough to land a few more.

Screenshot-18

And he managed to land a couple more before Oliver rushed in and pulled him back.

The bullying had only ever went as far as a few shoves, verbal insults and stealing. Never this bad. Maybe it wasn’t such a good idea to try and fight back… Especially if my spells last five seconds.

“Dude stop it!” Oliver snapped at Edmund before dragging him away.

I got up with a groan, hating that my face was bleeding again.

Screenshot-19

I was surprised to see Teo had stayed back. Delivering the final blow?

“We didn’t know Edmund would do that.” He said. I kept silent, only giving him a cold stare. “I asked him to go easier on…” He sighed. And I had no idea what he was trying to say. Nor did I care at this point.

Screenshot-20

“Look, I just hope this won’t affect your performance in the competition.” Teo finally spat out…with what looked almost like a friendly smile? I’m decidedly confused.

Teo exhaled awkwardly as I refused to respond in any way. Without another word he left to catch up with Oliver and Edmund.

Screenshot-21

Arg!

I wanted to punch the wall and kick the fence! But I didn’t. Instead I stayed frustrated, mostly at how I was going to find a believable excuse as to why my face was messed up.

Yeah, see you at the competition, if I ever get to go now!

Screenshot-22

My internal frustrations were interrupted when some girl walked over to me, quite obviously examining my wounds.

Now that I think about it, it’s probably the first time anyone’s seen me get bullied (apart from Erin that is) and actually come to see me afterwards. But I was too angry at that point to really care.

Screenshot-23

“Are you okay? I saw what those guys did.” She said, giving me a friendly concerned smile.

That only frustrated me more though. All I could see on her face was pity. But I don’t need pity! All I need right now is to go see Jupiter and take him out for a ride.

Screenshot-24

I rolled my eyes and pushed past her.

It was much too late for pity.

I clenched my fists as my anger rose again. Today has once again shown me who my real problem is.

Edmund.

 

Dang Ed, you’re making this hard for people to like you. Messing up my heir’s face like that! Tut tut

Side note! I accidently had free will maxed out when I loaded the game and this was Xenia’s very first autonomous interaction.

 Screenshot-25

Pillow fighting with Teo. I found it quite amusing that she would choose him out of all people.

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 8.3 – Violence is an answer

  1. Squeeeeee!!!! Go Xenia!!! And Teo kinda reminds me of Xe’s IF from my legacy so maybe that’s what she saw too lol a substitute for Cuddles Cross! I hope Xe has a nice juicy part in this story!

    And Xav, violence only begets violence… So the more violent you get towards their violence, the more violent they will become! Although, I can kinda understand Ed’s perspective now, but changing who you are just to make a parent (or anyone else) happy will only lead to disaster (ask me, I’ve been there!)

    I do hope Ed’s father lives long enough to see his son happy with another man (evil grin) will serve him right for trying to dictate who his son can be with!

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Really? Well dang what a coincidence! Well I can assure you this is not the only time Xe will appear 😀 That last screenshot certainly doesn’t look like she’ll the matter go as easily as Xav hopes.

      Yeah, Ed can’t quite help it at this point. It’s a positive/negative reinforcement thing that’s been hammered into him since he was a kid. But he’s a smart guy, him lashing out on Xav is gonna get him thinking.

      I sure hope so! And from a far away place because I’m scared of what that man might do if he saw it close up…

      Like

  2. Iomai says:

    Aww I feel sorry for Erin. I kinda want her around living with Xavier forever but I think that’d be torture for her. And Ed… when I saw he punched Xavier my first thought was: How dare you punch your soon to be boyfriend! I still ship them heavily in my mind xD. But man Ed has a tough life trying to please daddy all the time. I hope life gets better for them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Oh yes, if Erin wants to continue being Xavier’s friend she’s going to have to change a few things, move on and all. I personally hope she does, because I really like, but I can never know with these characters!
      I had trouble writing that scene >.>, I want to be together too, but they’re all making this very hard.
      Yeah Ed has it rough even if his parents are a little too rich for their own good. Hell all them kids have it rough…apart maybe Xavier. But knowing myself, that ain’t going to last!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. autumnrein says:

    I can’t believe I’m finally caught up! I can’t wait for another chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome to the waiting game lol if I had my way, Soph would update every hour, on the hour! But alas, us plebs have to wait… And wait… And hint… And hint… Before Soph gives in and posts another chapter ;-P

      Love ya, Soph ❤

      Bring on more of my gorgeous, game made sim, Xenia!!! I've never seen game genetics turn out quite so well in my games before!

      Liked by 1 person

      • blamsart says:

        Lol! I’m busting my chops to get you guys those chapters! XD

        Well it’s natural, I have all my settings on max! It does hurt my game performance, but…I can’t help it. I want them all to look the best they can. And either way a whole bunch of custom content hair I have requires high settings to look good and not like a cat puked them out.

        Like

        • Yeah but Xe even looks stunning on my medium graphics (see the entry pics on my blog)… Is it my imagination or do her eyes look darker in ur game? They like a weird olive green in mine…

          And, Sophie is an artiste! The only stories I currently enjoy just as much are The Chronicles of Clarke, and, Queen of the Dragons (you can get the links in Soph’s blog follows!)

          Liked by 1 person

          • blamsart says:

            She definitely does! I haven’t said this yet, but Xenia is really a gorgeous sim! Too bad Xav is gay or else I would’ve loved to use her genetics 😀
            hmmm I didn’t notice her eyes looking darker or anything…it might be because of the lighting. Meh, we’ll see with the next pics I take of her 😀

            Like

      • autumnrein says:

        Its just such an awesome storyline XD. And I can’t wait to see your character in action. All of the submissions look so awesome! I’m excited to see how Xavier’s generation will turn out.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ivaneluna says:

    My heart goes out to Edmund. That’s tough. Makes me want to hug him. *sigh* I know this story is fantasy and all, but it reminds me so much of how we all live in a broken world.

    Even Erin’s story reinforces that.

    I love Erin. It’s strange. In the last generation, I loved Joshua. It seems I get really attached to the best friends in your stories. (Gosh. I miss Joshua.)

    All this fighting is making me sad. Haha… Kind of glad to see Xavier fight back, but then wasn’t happy to see him get a beating. 😦

    (I understand if this is too personal, so feel free to ignore it, but I am dying to ask. Blams, are you a girl, a guy? Gay? I remember Jessi and I having a conversation about whether to refer to you as he or she or whatever. We weren’t sure if you were girl or guy. It’s not a big deal, but I’m honestly curious.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Yeah, I guess it unfortunately does. The biggest challenge is finding what isn’t broken and making the most of it.

      All the kids in Xavier’s generation (apart from maybe Xenia) all have something going on. Even though we as readers have an idea of what they’re life is like, they put on a front for the others. It’s something that happens continously in real life. You most certainly can’t know everything about someone with just a glance.

      (lol XD Your first instinct is most likely the right answer)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

