8.33 – A decision

Screenshot

Xavier’s POV

I slumped on my bed feeling conflicted.

I didn’t know what to do. Traz had inspired me with his speech making me think of things I hadn’t before, only to sit me in the first row of a revenge beating. Every time I started to doubt Traz for obvious reasons I’d remember the Traz I used to know. The one with the eyepatch. And then I trusted him all over again.

I couldn’t make heads or tails of anything. I knew what had happened was wrong, it was pushing the limits. But everything Traz had said to me somehow felt right. And you’d expect a truth seer to tell the truth as well. Still, no matter what he said, it didn’t justify beating someone up. But I couldn’t imagine turning him in.

On top of that, the woman’s comment had also made me realize if someone found out I’d talked to James, a wanted criminal, and not reported his whereabouts I could be, no would be, considered an accomplice.

Erin where are you? I need your advice.

***

Lily_Bell: I’m searching for proof that my family has supernatural history.

Whitelight: That’s why you’re on the site? Well good luck then, but I don’t think youll find much of anything here

Lily_Bell: Yeah, I’ve already gone through the forums and I haven’t seen any mention of my dad or my family. There was a lot of talk about people who claim to know everything though! You wouldn’t happen to be one of these people?

Whitelight: XD nope really not

Lily_Bell: It was worth a try!

Whitelight: Random question, from a random stranger:

Lily_Bell: Haha you’re not that much of a stranger at that point

Whitelight: What would you do if a friend of yours was doing something wrong?

Lily_Bell: What would I do? Hm, it depends on the severity of the situation really. But it all leads back to setting them on the right path again. Like, if they were cheating on their partner I would talk to them about it and try to make them see what they’re doing is wrong. Or if they like, I dunno, oppress and berate supernaturals I would hopefully make them see the bad part about doing that. After all, supernaturals and naturals all have to survive in order for there to be harmony. Wow, I guess I rambled a little huh? Haha, sorry.

***

Screenshot-2

I leaned against the window, wondering how I was going to be able to concentrate in class this afternoon.

Traz you a**hole.

Being a truth see-er is the equivalent of having an upgraded version of the identification spell or else you’d see how wrong that was last night.

Someone knocked on my door and let themselves in.

Screenshot-3

“Second time I’m sent to come and get you. You’re going to have to tell all these people I’m not your personal slave.” Eina joked, but something felt a little off.

“What’s up?”

“There are two people downstairs that want to see you. Two detectives.” Eina replied avoiding my eyes.

Screenshot-4

Detectives want to see me?

Did someone find out about what happened last night? Am I actually going to get in trouble for this?

Swallowing with a little difficulty I left my room and made my way downstairs with Eina following behind.

Screenshot-5

When I saw who the detectives were however, I started to wonder if it was really about what happened last night. They were the same people who interrogated me and my friends for the murder of Erin’s parents.

Did they reopen the case?

Screenshot-6

I spotted Traz in the room as well and when our eyes met he gave me a reassuring smile. As if to say it wasn’t what I was thinking.

Seeing him now with his eyepatch on, it felt like the Traz I’d seen yesterday was an illusion. Like it hadn’t really happened…but it had been way too real for it to be a dream.

Screenshot-7

“Xavier, just the man we wanted to see.” The man said with a smile that seemed to me like it was far from friendly. I never really had the feeling he liked me.

“We just have a few questions for you, if you’d please follow us. We’ll go in one of the rooms.” The woman said.

I gave a small nod not trusting myself to speak. What’s going on?

Eina walked past me and sat on the sofa beside Teo as the detectives started to walk.

Screenshot-8

Teo gave me a confused look, probably wondering what was going on.

Eina, however, met my eyes, but then looked away with a guilty look.

The detectives motioned for me to sit at one of the tables in the dining room and I did, crossing my arms defensively.

Screenshot-9

My heart was beating too quickly for my taste and I felt like I might start to sweat soon. What’s wrong with me? This never happened when they interrogated us on the death of Erin’s parents! Maybe it’s because back then I wasn’t alone. We were four on this, this time though…it really feels like I’m on my own on with whatever this is.

“Do you want a glass of water?” The woman asked, probably noticing how nervous I was getting.

I shook my head.

Screenshot-10

“We’ll get right to the point, we received an anonymous tip telling us the wanted criminal, James Whitelight, came here and spoke with you.” The woman explained. “We just want-”

But she was interrupted by the man’s phone ringing.

“Sorry about that, I’ll just be a few seconds.” The detective said as he brought the phone to his ear and walked into the kitchen.

I looked up at the woman who was looking at the man. It took her a few seconds before she told me she’d be right back and followed the man.

Screenshot-11

Sh*t. It was about James all along. I didn’t know he was a criminal when I talked to him! I should’ve known but…

And then the reason why Eina had looked so guilty struck me. She was the anonymous caller…she’s the only one who knew really since she came up to my room to tell me he was downstairs. But I thought I’d reassured her, I don’t see why she would rat me out!

But then again…she probably found out I was a witch at the show yesterday. Have I lost her trust?

Damn it, what am I supposed to tell the cops? My- he can control people with his mind. There’s not much they could do against him. But there’s a lot they could do against me. Edmund’s dad isn’t here to pull me out of this. How do I avoid getting in any more trouble?

And then I got an idea.

Screenshot-12

I took in a deep breath, closed my eyes and concentrated. Once I could feel the magic in my fingers, just like Annaliese had taught me, I recited the incantation under my breath.

Truth by deceit

Lies by honesty

A few moments after I opened my eyes, the detectives came back.

Screenshot-13

The woman gave me a weird look, twitching her nose, and I tried not to look too nervous.

The man sat down and smiled.

“Sorry about that. Now we just have a couple of questions. And hopefully this time you can answer a little more truthfully.”

“Ask away.” I managed to reply, ignoring his last comment.

Screenshot-14

“Is it true that James Whitelight stepped foot inside this dorm and held a conversation with you several weeks ago?”

“I don’t know.” I replied, feeling the spell come into effect.

“What do you mean?” The man asked.

“I did have a conversation with a suspicious person, but he was masked so it was difficult to determine his identity.” I said, the words easily coming out of my mouth.

“Why didn’t you report it?”

“All we did was have a conversation. Apart from his appearance, there wasn’t anything suspicious about him.” I replied.

“What did you talk about?”

Screenshot-15

“He asked if I wanted to support supernaturals. Recruiting I guess?” I bit the inside of my cheek.

“Do you know where he was heading?” The man asked, surveying my face.

“No.” I easily replied. That wasn’t a lie.

“Did he talk to anyone else?”

“Not that I’m aware of.”

“Why would he only be interested in you? Are you something special to the supernaturals?” The detective asked. Cause I’m his son? No cause I’m one of the only two who can save his daughter.

“No, I’m just a university student. A lot of students are choosing sides.”

“My last question, do you have any relation to James Whitelight?” He said almost glaring at my face like he was daring me to lie.

“No.”

The detectives looked unsatisfied with my answers, but they let me go telling me they’d be in touch.

***

Screenshot-16

“The police came, asking about James.” I told Annaliese as we met up at our usual spot for practice.

I almost decided not to tell her, thinking the presence or not of detectives probably wouldn’t change much for James. But then I realized maybe Annaliese would tell me what he did if I did.

Screenshot-17

“What? You didn’t tell them anything did you?” Annaliese exclaimed.

“Well even if I had there wouldn’t be much I could say anyway.” I replied. “And no I didn’t, I used one of the spells you taught me. You know the one where you lie and it actually looks like you’re telling the truth?” I said, bragging a bit, because that was one of the ones I’d had a lot of difficulty mastering.

Screenshot-18

“Oh good…but how did they know to talk to you?”

“It was Eina actually…she called and left an anonymous tip.” I replied, looking to the side. Should I confront her? She’s probably convinced I’m with the Talent Troupe now. Like Traz.

Well you can’t really say I’m out of it either.

“So…how you holding up?” Annaliese unexpectedly asked.

“What do you mean?” I frowned wondering if she knew what had happened last night.

Screenshot-19

“Well last night everybody learned you were a witch. I know you wanted to keep that a secret…” Annaliese said.

Wow. I hadn’t even thought about that.

“Oh yeah that…I think I’ll be fine. I’m not well known around the campus or anything so I don’t think a lot of people are going to care.” I said.

Screenshot-20

“Are you okay Xavier?”

“Yeah, why?”

“Well…I expected you to make a bigger deal about this. You were so intent on not seeing yourself as a witch at first. Did something happen? You seem like you have something else on your mind.” Annaliese guessed.

“I just didn’t get a lot of sleep last night. So how about we start training? It’s THE spell this time right?” I asked, quickly changing subjects. I needed to figure out what I was going to do about Traz, but it’s not with Annaliese that I was going to.

Screenshot-21

“Yes!” Annaliese exclaimed with a large smile. “And I haven’t actually mastered this one yet, so we’re both going to be learning at the same time.”

“Ah finally the student gets to surpass the master?” I joked.

“Don’t get ahead of yourself.” Annaliese replied with a smirk.

***

Two days later…

Screenshot-22

I’m stumped.

I weighed my options. Turning Traz in, ignoring anything ever happened, trying to tell him to stop. And every single option got chosen at one point, but then I would doubt my decision and change my mind. I just can’t decide. I don’t know which is the right thing to do!

And Erin still hasn’t called. So I decided to ask someone else for help.

Screenshot-23

“Doctor is in the house!” Xenia said, grinning.

“Hey. Thanks for coming, I know you’ve got a lot of studying to do for your classes.” I said as she came over and sat down.

“Come on Xav, I have time for friends. So what’s up?”

I took a deep breath and told her the short vague version. Basically that a friend of mine had done something illegal, dragged me into it and now I didn’t know what to do.

Screenshot-24

“Woah, woah wait. You’re telling me this friend of yours dragged you into their mess? Doesn’t sound like much of a friend.”

“Yeah…but he doesn’t see it as a mess.”

“And now you don’t know whether to turn him in or not?”

I nodded.

Screenshot-25

“I say turn him in.” Xenia said. “You don’t need friends like that.”

“But-” I immediately spoke up, but she cut me off.

“But! You actually want to keep this friend, so I say don’t turn him in.”

I frowned. She wasn’t really helping.

 Screenshot-26

“The ‘right’ thing to do isn’t always the right thing…the authorities don’t always have the tools to deal with things, especially when it concerns supernaturals. I say talk to him. Try to change his mind, find a way to get him to see what’s wrong with that he’s doing. And if that doesn’t work end the friendship before you get pulled into something worse than you already have.” Xenia replied.

Her advice was similar to the one I got from Lily_Bell

“Alright, I’ll confront him. Thanks.” I said.

Screenshot-27

“No problem, now think you could so something for me? I challenged Lem to a basketball tournament and I need someone to practice with me before.”

I smiled. “Yeah, I have some time before my class.”

 

 

Chapters are taking longer to write -_-‘ sorry, and that’s probably not going to change at all for the next month. I’m trying to write a few chapters in advance for when I go on my summer Holiday.

Thanks Iomai for helping me with a section of this chapter 😀

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8.33 – A decision

  1. Traz, you jerk! How dare you leave our Hero in such a quandary! *did I spell that correctly*

    Yay! More Xenia, I missed you my olive-eyed technophobe!

    Great chapter as always, Blams! I think I need to learn that spell for the next time I wanna lie to my folks lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      You did spell that correctly and I now know a new word. I didn’t know there could be a word that described Xavier’s almost constant state of mind so accurately!
      I kind of missed writing Xenia too, she’s still as pretty 😀

      Like

  2. autumnrein says:

    Such a tough call. I think he should actually talk to Traz before thinking about just turning him into the Police.
    Thats so sad about Eina. Well it looks like she can’t be trusted from here on in if she’s going to make anonymous calls to the police. But then again, did she actually do it, or was it someone else and Xavier is just thinking that it was because it’s the most logical option? I can’t wait to see how it’s going to unfold.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, you know, it’s funny, but also like….hmmm…Xavier could talk to him, sure, and if he does that’s fine and maybe it’ll help, but also….I dunno. I almost feel like…simply distancing himself from Traz would be the best option. I don’t really see Traz changing his ways all because Xavier is uncomfortable with them. I mean, they’re friends, yes, but not that terribly close, and Traz seems pretty passionate about this cause. I like what he stands for and I appreciate much of what he says, particularly to Xavier since he’s been so self-conscious and unsure about the fact that he’s a witch, but the fact of the matter remains that his methods are violent. Now I can see where one could say that they’re warranted and justified; and I could also see the argument that taking such aggressive methods only causes more problems. So in the end, it’s what you feel comfortable with, and Xavier clearly isn’t comfortable with Traz’s way of going about things. Thus, he could find other ways to support the movement, but at the same time make it clear to Traz that his way, is not, and will not, be his own way. And Traz can get mad all he wants, but Xavier has the right to make his own decisions and he’s got to stay strong and maintain his boundaries. If this doesn’t feel right to him, then he’s under no obligation to support it. He can find a way to support the cause (if he still wants to) that does work for him. Unless, of course, he can’t live with the knowledge that Traz is out there continuing to engage in these activities…in which case, again a conversation probably won’t change his mind, so…you pull an Eina. You report it because it weighs too heavily on your conscious not to. And just as it was Eina’s, it’d be his right too.

    So then that’s what it comes down to: If Xavier can live with the thought that Traz and his group are doing these things, then he should simply distance himself because he himself doesn’t feel comfortable with it; if he can’t live with the thought…I guess you could try talking to him, but…most likely, you’ll end up needing to report him.

    Wow. All that thinking and I pretty much wound right back in Xavier’s dilemma…..please excuse my ramblings! Lol XD

    Guess I’ll see now how that conversation goes…and what exactly becomes Xavier’s next step.

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Th reason Xavier decided to go talk to him was because 1) the two are friends enough that Xav can’t consciously automatically turn him in. It’s too drastic for him and 2) Leaving Traz alone wouldn’t be good for Xav’s conscience. He would KNOW Traz goes around beating people and that really doesn’t sit right with him.
      So he needed to at least try and see if he can get through to him

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

