8.44 – Ridgevalley encounters

Screenshot

2 months later…

Xavier’s POV

Another cloudy morning welcomed the busy city of Ridgevalley. My first morning as it would be. My first morning in my very own apartment, on my very own, and about to go to an interview for my very first official job.

And even though I wasn’t woken by my alarm clock, but by the beeping and honking of the cars outside, the fact that today is filled with a bunch of my very owns is making me wake up pretty damn happy.

Screenshot-2

I got up with a nice long stretch, glancing at my alarm clock and noticing that I’d woken up a good half hour before my alarm.

Bah, I don’t really care that much. I don’t feel tired at all!

Screenshot-3

It’s only been a little over a month since I finished university. I was the only one which was pretty boring. Xenia and Teo both have to keep studying for their respective career choices. Lem failed one of his classes so he had to take an extra session, and Eina decided she didn’t want to study in art anymore, instead she was going in human sciences.

Olistan would’ve still been in school too at this point…

I slammed the drawer shut hard enough to snap me out of it. Yes, Olistan died, doesn’t mean I should destroy my mood or waste my time by thinking about it. It’s not going to bring him back or anything.

Screenshot-4

So yeah, after I graduated my parents and I looked into an apartment I could get in Ridgevalley. I’d already sent my CV to several companies that were hiring artists, and most of them were here in Ridgevalley. And if none of the interviews I’d gotten worked out, I shouldn’t have too much trouble finding a job.

Ridgevalley was THE business town. Compared to Legacy Island II it was a lot busier and noisier and smellier. All the big company headquarters were here, this is where people came to get good jobs…and well bad jobs too.

According to Tina, we landed the jackpot with this place, even though it’s not all that spectacular. It’s got two bedrooms, a washroom, and a living area. It’s not huge, but it was more than enough for just me.

Screenshot-5

Actually, I was hoping the extra bedroom could be for when my friends came to visit. They promised they would so I’m expecting it of them. In particular Erin who vaguely mentioned that she might be looking to move here. Most of her clients were requesting from here anyway, and sending potions and remedies through the mail was risky every time.

Screenshot-6

For now, while I wait for everyone to come visit, I’m pretty much on my own here. So I’m hoping I can make a few friends in town. Who knows who I might find here? The town is huge and thriving, and just the taxi ride alone let me see how many various people were walking the streets!

Screenshot-7

I grabbed what I needed and headed out the door, making sure to lock it behind me. I hesitated in front of the door next to mine, thinking maybe I should greet my neighbours. I’d probably be here a while until I had enough money to buy a house. But then I realized it was still pretty early in the morning and I didn’t want to wake anyone up. Not how I wanted my first impression to go.

Screenshot-8

As happy as I am to be on my own, I’m still pretty nervous. What if I actually can’t find a job in this big city? What if I get robbed? What if I do wake up the neighbours one day and they hate me so much for it they decide to make my life a living hell?

Okay yeah, that’s a bit exaggerated.

Screenshot-9

I only had two things planned for today. Well two big things. I still had some shopping to do, namely grocery shopping, the food Charlie and Tina had given me weren’t meant to last more than a few days.

First, in a couple of hours, I had an interview at one of the bigger firms I’d submitted my résumé to.

And then later, around 2 pm, I was going to meet up with a friend.

Screenshot-10

A friend I’d actually never met before. My internet friend Lily_Bell. Her real name was Lilith and the last time we’d spoken we discovered something pretty interesting. We were both going to be in Ridgevalley at the same time.

I’d known her for over a year now and we’d become pretty good friends, so we decided to meet up so we could actually ‘meet’.

Screenshot-11

Considering that, I still had a lot of time to myself. So I spent most of it wandering around town, before I found a nice little park with an abundance of ‘friendly’ pigeons.

I spent the rest of the time I had left before my interview drawing said pigeons. Nearly impossible mind you, they kept fluttering around searching the ground for food. One even made its way under my sketch pad, popping its head out to test out the edibility of my pencil.

Screenshot-12

A few hours later, yet half an hour early, I was standing in front of the building swallowing a little nervously. My first interview…if I could land this one I wouldn’t need to do all the others, or start looking for other jobs possibilities.

Screenshot-13

I checked to make sure I had everything I needed, took another breath, and went inside giving the secretary my best smile. It probably looked really scary.

I told her what I was here for and she directed me to a higher level, in which someone else told me to go see this person in that hallway, who finally in turn led me to Mr.Cragner’s office. The person gave me a thumbs up before scurrying back to their desk.

That only made me more nervous. I knocked on the door, wiping my already sweaty hands on my jeans. The place was so huge! If I ever did get hired in a place like this, I wouldn’t be surprised if I got lost every time I came in for the first month.

Screenshot-14

A voice inside told me to come in, so I opened the door and stepped in. I’d actually considered casting a courage spell on myself, just a little one, but I decided not to just as quickly. I didn’t want to depend on my magic for important things like this, especially if it was apparently easy for me to lose it.

I rubbed the back of my neck as I stood awkwardly watching Mr.Cragner typing away on his computer. Eventually, without taking his eyes off the computer, he spoke up.

Screenshot-15

“Sit down, I’m almost done.”

I made my way to one of the chairs and sat down, hands between my legs. I looked around the poorly furnished office, my eyes traveling over the bookcase, the name plate Joshua Cragner, and the empty aquarium.

Screenshot-16

Mr.Cragner tapped a final key before grabbing the monitor and setting it to the side.

“Yes, I know about the aquarium. I can’t help it, Goldie died this morning. You don’t want to know how, it was gruesome.” He said, casting a sad glance to the fish bowl.

“Oh…uh, my condolences?” I said, unsure of what to reply.

“Don’t worry, I was planning on replacing Goldie with a beta anyway.” Mr. Cragner said with a laugh. This isn’t exactly going like I thought it would go so far.

Screenshot-17

“So what’s your name?” He asked, opening a drawer to take out some papers.

“Xavier.” I replied.

He had a moment of pause then and he peeled his eyes away from the drawer, looking at me like what seemed to be the first time.

“Xavier?”

Screenshot-18

The way he was looking at me made me feel like I’d done something wrong, and then I realized he must’ve wanted my full name.

“Xavier Jales.” I said this time. The word Whitelight did cross my mind…but just because I learned I was born with that last name in no way meant I had to adopt it from now on. And either way, official documents had me down as Jales. I don’t even want Whitelight as a last name. Jales is better, nice and short.

“Xavier Jales.” Mr. Cragner said, dragging out my last name like he didn’t believe me.

I nodded.

Screenshot-19

“Alright, then let’s start this thing for real now Mr.Jales.” He said, finally pulling out those documents and placing them on his desk.

From then on the meeting was a lot less weird, and more what you’d expect from an interview. I left the building feeling unsure on whether I’d actually gotten the job or not. In the end, I was really just happy to have one of them done and finished.

I still had two hours left before meeting Lilith. I guess I could go do my grocery shopping now, and if I still had time I could find somewhere isolated. My fingers were feeling tingly, which was their way of telling me these days that they felt like casting some spells. One thing I’d noticed while training with Annaliese, was that I was progressively getting more and more in touch with my magic and what I could do.

I was so lost in my thoughts, coming up with plans for the next two hours, that I never saw the kid coming until it was too late.

Screenshot-20

He came out of what seemed like nowhere, shouting the word “Edmund!” loudly enough that I was sure the whole building had heard it. I was so taken off guard that I’m pretty sure I jumped up a few feet, my heart beating wildly as I took notice of the disappointed boy in front of me.

Screenshot-21

“My name’s not Edmund, it’s Xavier.” I said, once my feet had touched the ground again.

Someone chuckled on my right and I glanced over. A blond woman was watching the boy, looking amused. Probably his mother or something similar.

Screenshot-22

“I know that. I’m not stupid.” The boy scoffed.

“Then why-”

“How else am I supposed to scare him? I can’t if I know who’s coming around the corner. Obviously.” The boy said, looking at me like I was the stupidest person he’d ever seen.

Screenshot-23

The woman walked over to me, still smiling.

“Sorry about that, he’s just excited to see his brother.” She explained.

“No that’s not it!” The boy complained, standing on his toes to enter the conversation.

“That’s okay.” I replied.

“His brother said he had a surprise for him after his-”

“That’s not it!” The boy complained even louder.

Screenshot-24

“We’re having a contest to see who can scare who first!” The boy exclaimed.

“Oh!” I said with a light chuckle.

“And I’m so going to win. I scared you didn’t I? And the old man, and that woman, and-”

“Yeah…we should let Xavier go now.” The woman said with a smile.

Screenshot-25

“Yeah, it’s about time you left!” The boy suddenly said with a glare.

“Alistair!” The woman exclaimed half-amused.

“You’re distracting me! I won’t be able to scare him like this!” Alistair insisted.

“Okay, okay! I’m leaving!” I said as I tried not to laugh.

Screenshot-26

With a polite nod in the lady’s direction, I left the two and headed to my original destination. The grocery store.

See? I knew I’d find all sorts of people here. Little boys certainly didn’t go up to people and yell random names at them in Legacy Island II.

It’s pretty ironic that he’d be searching for an Edmund…

“The next one is going to be him, I’m sure of it!”

Screenshot-27

“Edmund!”

Alistair’s exclamation resounded through the air and I chuckled to myself, pitying the boy’s next victim.

“I scared you didn’t I? Admit it, you were scared!”

I should eat lunch too, maybe I could try out one of the bistros in town…or just get myself lunch at the grocery store.

“Hey not fair! You’re stronger, let me go!”

Screenshot-28

Or I could try out one of the bars I’ve heard about…maybe it’s a little too early to be going to a bar though.

“Ew! Stop it, that’s disgusting!”

***

Screenshot-29

2 hours later, I found myself drawing in a park. It was on the outskirts of downtown so it was a lot quieter and there was more wildlife and things of the sort that demanded to be put down on paper. I needed to practice my realism anyways.

I liked the place so much I texted Lilith, telling her to come meet me here instead if she could.

Screenshot-30

She didn’t mind and just a few minutes after 2, she was in front of me leaning over to look at what I’d been drawing.

“Hey Xavier,” She beamed. I fumbled to my feet, a little embarrassed that I’d gotten so engrossed in my drawing that I hadn’t seen her coming.

Screenshot-31

“Lilith!” I said, pulling her into a hug. There was nothing awkward about it, we knew each other too well at this point. We’d spent over a year exchanging advice and problems over the internet and sometimes over the phone. She knew I was a witch and that I had some hand to play with what happened in university; with the supernaturals getting attacked. I’d asked her for a lot of help, especially in the beginning , when I wasn’t sure if our approach to go against Traz was right or not. I relied a lot on her morality when Olistan died as well. To make sure that it wasn’t our fault.

Death wasn’t an easy subject with Erin.

Screenshot-32

On the other hand, I knew all about the search for her magical identity. She’d gone all the way to Egypt with the lead that her father possibly had magical ties with the place. If that was the case, she might have inherited some as well.

For the duration of our time together we caught up on each other’s stories and walked around the park.

I told her all about my first days here at Ridgevalley, about the weird Mr.Cragner and the amusing little boy named Alistair.

She told me all about her trip to Egypt, the adventures she had there and the things she found.

Screenshot-33

“Xavier, there was actually something I was wondering…” Lilith admitted once she finished recounting her story. “I heard supernaturals could sense other supernaturals.”

I nodded. “That’s true, some of them can. And I see where you’re getting at, but I’m sorry. I’ve never really been able to do that.”

Screenshot-34

“Ah it was just a thought.”

“And maybe you’re like those ‘supernaturals who aren’t supernaturals’,” I suggested, thinking about Annaliese and her brother. Oh and Traz as well. It was publicly announced a few years ago that eye supernaturals were now officially considered ‘supernaturals who aren’t supernaturals’. They had this whole scientific name for it, but I can’t remember. “Supernaturals can’t sense them.”

“Maybe.”

Toc Toc Toc

The background toc-ing of shoes hitting the ground had progressively gotten closer to the point where Lilith and I looked up to see who it was.

It was a young teenager with intense dark blue purple eyes. Without warning, she passed in between the both of us, grabbing our hands along for the ride.

Screenshot-35

“You two are perfect! Come with me!”

 

 

*Lilith’s actual clothes differ from the ones she has in this chapter, I just don’t have custom clothes in my game*

Ooooh, who is this teenager? Who remembers? been planning this forever

Concerning Lilith, I won’t be divulging much if any of her story. It’s sort of a collaboration with Iomai (Lilith’s creator). So if you want to know more about her you can go read her story here: https://tlotxlilithsstory.wordpress.com/ (just saying, the story hasn’t actually reached the point depicted in my chapter. Which is why close to nothing was revealed about her background XD)

Fun fact: Little Alistair was originally supposed to still be a toddler, but it seemed my game decided this very day was the day he grew up. Talk about timing.

 

 

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 8.44 – Ridgevalley encounters

  1. Senkime says:

    Looks like the weapon or could be someone’s kid.

    Like

  2. JOSHUA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hello again old friend! Still love that hair!

    Boo Edmund Boo!!! Hiss!!! Hiss!!! And it seems his brother is also a little snot!

    Lillith is so pretty!

    I know that teenagers face but I can’t place her! It’s not the weapon cuz her hair is more white, but she definitely reminds me strongly of someone!

    Liked by 2 people

    • blamsart says:

      :D:D:D
      Been planning to have Joshua appear since I said he’d gone to Ridgevalley 😀
      Alistair? Heh, what can you expect with parents like that.
      She’s from very very far away, last time we saw her it was over a year ago! Yup that long ago. I knew I’d have her appear somewhere in this generation. 🙂

      Like

  3. autumnrein says:

    Wow, Edmund and Xavier in the same town. I have a feeling they are going to end up working in the same office. His brother does sound a bit snotty but he is just a kid and obviously takes his game very seriously. Sounds like he and Edmund are actually getting along. I would have thought there would have been some tension between the two given how Edmund’s father was. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Iomai says:

    I’ve been gone for so long from my story T-T I’m a horrible writer. But I’m glad to see Lilith, I almost screamed when I saw Xavier’s face lol he’s so smexy now. I need to kick it into gear writing my stories o-o

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Episode 5 – Renewed – Lilith's Adventure

Leave a Reply

