8.60 – Subtle hints

Oh wow look at that, here I didn’t think I’d be able to finish it in time for the ‘2 day’ thing I have going.

At the end, you’ll notice a lot of screenshots and no text. That’s intentional XD

Enjoy 🙂

 Screenshot

Edmund’s POV

A stray snowflake fell on my nose as I sneered at my little brother.

“Don’t be too hard on your brother Alistair, you know how he is.” Charlotte said with a teasing smirk. I faked being offended.

Screenshot-2

“He’s a big guy he can take it right!? The ass whooping I’m going to give you!” Alistair taunted at me.

“Jeesus Al! Where’d you learn that language?” I exclaimed with a grin.

Screenshot-3

Alistair bent down and gathered a ball of snow in his hands.

“You sure you’re strong enough to throw that buddy?” I mocked and he stuck his tongue out at me.

“I hope it hits you square in the mouth!” He shouted as he threw the snowball in my direction.

Screenshot-4

I dropped to the ground and managed to dodge it, actually a little surprised with my brother’s aim.

“You really were aiming for my head! There could’ve been a rock in there!” I exclaimed as the snowball buried itself in the bush behind me.

“There probably was…” Alistair said with a suspicious wiggle of his eyebrows.

Screenshot-5

“Either way that was a horrible throw. Here let me show you how it’s done.” I said, gathering my own ammunition.

“Oh just watch, I have EPIC ninja skills!” Alistair said, skipping from foot to foot. I laughed and slung the snow at him.

Screenshot-6

It hit him straight in the chest and he bent down from the impact.

“Ack! That’s not fair!” Alistair exclaimed. “I’m just a kid! You have to go easy on me!”

“Not with those taunts buddy. Ass whooping? Really?”

“UNFAIR! Guilty! Guilty!” Alistair repeated as I charged at him and tackled him into the snow.

Screenshot-7

My father is never happy to see me. Not that he ever really was, or that I particularly enjoy seeing him either. But I still make it a habit to drop by my parent’s place to say hi to my mom and to kidnap my little brother for a little sibling time.

“Hey look, I can shove my entire arm in his butt!” Alistair said with a grin.

“Hey stop that! You’re making a hole! The snowman’s going to collapse!” I said. But Alistair just smirked and shoved his arm even further so his fingers stuck out on the other end. I grabbed the body of the snowman and dropping on his head.

Screenshot-8

Sometimes Charlotte joined us as well. She and Alistair were pretty close and since she and I had broken up, she’d basically become an unwanted stranger at my parents’ house. So the only time she could see my little brother was when he was with me.

Screenshot-9

“So, how did it go with Xavier?” Charlotte asked, lightly bumping shoulders.

I smiled. “Not that bad actually. He accepted to go on a date with me Saturday.”

“You guys hadn’t really seemed to be on good terms…”

“No, not really. And it’s really all my fault.” I said scratching the back of my head. “But I’m hoping to make it up to him, and he seems willing to hear me out.”

Charlotte smiled. “Good for you.”

Screenshot-10

“What about you?” I asked.

“Me?”

“Yeah, how are you holding up?” I asked. “With…you know…”

Her eyes drifted down a little sadly.

“I’ve got, what a decade left? There’s nothing I can do. I’m just living with it now.”

 

Screenshot-11

“It sucks, I wish there was something I can do. Maybe there’s a supernatural out there who can help.” I insisted.

“Supernaturals can’t heal Edmund, everyone knows that.”

“Yeah, but it’s all been pretty weird lately. They’re some people coming up with weird powers, while others are just losing them altogether. Who knows, maybe someone out there can heal?” I wondered outloud.

“Stop it, don’t give me useless hope.”

“Sorry.”

She shrugged.

Screenshot-12

“So, what are you going to wear on your date?” Charlotte asking, changing subjects with a smile.

“Um…clothes?”

“Geez, Edmund can’t you at least put an effort in your appearance?” Charlotte exclaimed.

“Yes, I can. I’ve always done that! I always combed my hair using the best gel out there, always trimmed my beard a certain specific way, always had my suits flat ironed, always put way too much effort in everything! Feels nice to just ruffle my hair, trim my beard when I feel like it, and slap on some clothes and be good to go.” I said, emphasizing my words with grand arm movements. I can do what I want, I can wear what I want, I can look like I want!

Screenshot-13

“No deodorant? What about your teeth?” Charlotte said, looking mortified.

I chuckled shaking my head. “Seriously? Do you have to stick to the details?”

“You know I’m just kidding.” She said, reaching out to ruffle my hair. “Completely honest here, this look does suit you a lot better.”

“Thanks.” I said with a smirk as I reruffled my hair. She rolled her eyes.

***

Screenshot-14

Saturday

Erin’s POV

I opened the door and rolled my eyes in irritation as I recognized the person who’d knocked.

“Please!” The woman exclaimed, reaching out to grab my arms, but I harshly slapped them away.

“No.” I snapped, reaching to the close the door, but she slammed her foot in front of it to stop me.

Screenshot-15

“No please, help me!” The werewolf pleaded, only a faint glow visible in her eyes. “My eyes are starting to glow again, I can’t wait till Sunday!”

“I warned you this would happen.” I growled, but she didn’t budge under my glare.

Screenshot-16

“I’m sorry! Just give it to me today! I’ll pay you double! I can’t have everyone discovering I’m a supernatural.” She begged, her eyes beginning to fill with tears.

“NO.” I hissed, trying not to shout and bother the neighbours.

Screenshot-17

“There’s a reason we meet up! I don’t want people coming to my house begging for potions, especially when I warned them not to abuse!” I said as harshly as I could manage.

“Look I’m sorry, I just – since I’m here, you could-”

Screenshot-18

“No, stop begging, and don’t you EVER dare come back here again or I’ll personally kick your tiny ass out of this building.” I said, hoping the insult would finally get her out of here.

Her face scrunched up in anger. “You’re a b*tch.”

Screenshot-19

“And now you’re not getting that potion of yours tomorrow. Funny how the world works huh?” I shot back.

“No wait I’m sorry-” She started to beg again, her face a vision of regret. But I’d had enough, I pushed her foot out of the way and slammed my door shut.

Screenshot-20

GAH, I hated when this happened. Didn’t matter how explicitly I told them I’d give them what they paid for on the day I mentioned, the time I mentioned, and the place I mentioned. There’s always one that wants it early, that digs up where I live, and comes knocking at the door.

My clients are desperate people, and I don’t want those types of people around my son. My parents could’ve easily fit into that category.

Screenshot-21

Luckily for them, so far it only happened when Max and Xavier are at school. First time it’s a Saturday though, but right now Xavier is out on his date and Max went to hang out at a friend’s house.

And I’m at home making potions with that sniper still passed out on the couch. It’s been three days!

Screenshot-22

You’d think he would’ve woken up by now, it’s not like his wounds were that severe. After the first three hours I suggested Annaliese drop by and speed heal him, but she was apparently busy. Something with her brother having some post-traumatic stress or something?

I flipped my book open and pulled out the list of potions I needed to have finished for tomorrow.

Screenshot-23

Xavier says that at this point he’s pretty much healed. His body is catching up on some much needed sleep, like the guy hadn’t slept for days.

So he’s just using our couch as a hotel basically. Hip hip hourrah.

Oh but of course Xav is fine with it for now.

Screenshot-24

Speaking of, on a date with Edmund? I can’t believe I didn’t see that coming. I’d thought Xav had rejected him when he came over. I was proud of him! Finally got rid of that anchor, but nope, next thing I know he’s going on a date with him.

Why do I ever bother with those two? I can’t keep up anymore. Maybe Edmund really has changed. His appearance definitely has. I snickered.

Screenshot-25

I stiffened as I felt a presence move behind me and heard a clink.

“What are you making?” In the silence of the apartment, his russian accent seemed to fill the entirety of the space around me. I straightened up, slamming the book shut, snuffing out the candles in the process.

Screenshot-26

I spun around, suddenly bringing my arm close to me as I nearly hit him in the face. I hadn’t expected him to be that close. I could just imagine Oliver watching the scene with a stupid grin. If he really was in the room I was going to give him a nice finger to look at.

A small smirk worked itself on the sniper’s face.

“So, what are you making?” He asked.

“Potions.” I replied harshly. “Now if you’re up and about, you’re free to leave.” I stated, gesturing at the door.

Screenshot-27

He stumbled back, suddenly clutching his stomach. “Oh, what’s this? Oh it still hurts, I think I should actually go lie down.” He said, exaggerating his pain.

I crossed my arms. “Uhuh.”

“I’ll just – yup.” He said as he wobbled over to the couch.

Screenshot-28

I rolled my eyes and went back to my work. I’m not in the mood to argue, I’ll kick him out later. Xavier probably won’t be happy about that, but whatever.

And then I heard the scraping of the couch on the ground. I looked up to see what the hell he was doing now.

Screenshot-29

He’d actually moved the couch, and was now lounging on it looking as comfortable as can be.

“Are you being serious right now?” I said, the frown right back on my face.

He shrugged. “There’s nothing good on tv.”

I let out an exasperated sigh.

Screenshot-30

“So…tell me parenticide girl. You saw me beat up on the ground and thought I was too pretty to leave there?” He asked with a slight smirk. His words were teasing, but his tone needed to know exactly how he’d gotten here.

Well I guess that’s understandable.

“Hardly. It’s Xavier who wanted to bring you home.” I replied.

“Xavier?” He asked, actually looking confused as to who that was.

Screenshot-31

Somehow, that actually made me smile.

“Do you make it a habit of not knowing anything when you take on a job?” I mocked.

“No seriously, who is he?”

“The witch you shot.” I replied a little coldly. His eyes widened with recognition.

“Oh! The guy with the…” He proceeded to mimic Xav’s erratic show of powers with his hands. I raised an eyebrow.

“Yeah him.” I said, crossing my arms again, the smile officially gone from my face.

“I don’t usually make it a habit of knowing things I don’t need to. Like people’s names. By the way, what was yours again?” He asked, adjusting his beanie.

Screenshot-32

“In my home? On my couch? After moving my furniture? You don’t get to ask the questions.” I said, with I admit, quite a lot of attitude.

“Oh?” He said, an amused grin on his face. “You actually want to ask questions about me and not murder me? Or what was it last time? Bruise my face?”

I narrowed my eyes, fighting back the slight blush. “Don’t get ahead of yourself.”

“Don’t worry about me, ask away.”

Screenshot-33

“Just the obvious one. When are you leaving?” I asked in irritation.

He shrugged. “Eventually.”

“What… are you hiding from people?” I snapped, his attitude getting on my nerves.

“What gave it away?”

Screenshot-34

“Even more reason for you to get the hell out of here. A kid lives here.” I said. If some thugs dropped by and hurt Maxwell…I swear I was going to tear this guy apart.

“Ah, it’s not that type of people. They have uh…standards? You have anything to drink?” He asked, licking his lips and looking in the kitchen.

“What type of people are they?” I asked, still unconvinced. Geez Xavier, we really should’ve left him there. For all we know, he’s just going to bring us a lot of trouble.

“The type that doesn’t like people backing out. Glass of water?” He asked pushing himself off the couch.

Screenshot-35

I stood silent, processing the words he’d just said. Backing out? Of what? Of being a jerk?

But really, it was the sense of the words that made it sound like he was struggling to get out of something and was obviously having some trouble that made me at a small loss of words. He caught on to that before I could just give up on conversation and leave him to get his drink.

Screenshot-36

“Yeah, you know I’m feeling pretty good now. All healed up.” He said. “I’ll get out of your way now.” A slight adjustment of his beanie, a casual nod, and then he was out of the door.

I crossed my arms, my nostrils flaring a bit.

The guy moves my couch and doesn’t even bother putting it back.

About an hour later…

Screenshot-37

I was sitting at the counter, stewing in my own thoughts when Xavier came in grinning like a fool.

I’d wanted to actually do work, but apparently my mind had other things it wanted to do. Like think about stupid pointless things.

I barely gave mr.I-just-came-back-from-a-perfect-date a glance before I went back to sulking.

Xavier managed to hang his coat and light up that incense of his before asking the question.

Screenshot-38

“So…what’s the couch doing in the middle of the way? And where’s the guy?”

“He left like an hour ago.” I replied, scratching at a spot on the counter.

“And the couch?”

“Too lazy to move it back.” I replied.

Screenshot-39

Xavier dropped the subject and moved the couch himself, before falling down on it with a content sigh.

“Just give me a few seconds.” I said. I rubbed the bridge of my nose, shook my head to chase the thoughts away, then turned to my best friend. “Okay, I’m all ears.”

Xavier let out a small chuckle, before springing up on the couch, that grin still plastered on his face. “Alright.”

***

Hours ago…

Edmund’s POV

Screenshot-40

Yup this is happening.

Spent so much time doubting and regretting and hating myself for the decisions I’d made when it came to Xavier, and even though I managed to break the trust he gave me on more than one occasion, here he was willing to give me another chance.

Screenshot-41

He has such a great smile, and his eyes are this delicious shade of hazelnut. I’d forgotten.

“Can you stop?” Xavier asked with a grin as he looked up at me again.

“What?”

“Seriously, you’re making me feel embarrassed.” Xavier said his cheeks reddening. Gah, how adorable!

Screenshot-42

“I’m just really happy.” I said, picking up my fork. “You know, this technically really is our first date. We never really went on any in highschool.”

I glanced up and saw Xavier looking at me with probably the same expression I had. Our smiles grew and Xavier chuckled.

God I’d been such an idiot.

Screenshot-43

“Xavier, I’m so sorry for everything that happened, I-” I wanted to apologize, because last time I had…Xavier wasn’t really in full possession of himself. But Xavier cut me off.

“Edmund, it’s okay and anyway, first dates aren’t meant for heavy discussion.” Xavier said. I shut my mouth and nodded with a smile.

“Right.”

Screenshot-44

No mention was made of the past after that, leaving the rest of the afternoon to have fun.

Screenshot-45 Screenshot-46 Screenshot-47 Screenshot-48 Screenshot-49 Screenshot-50 Screenshot-51 Screenshot-52 Screenshot-53 Screenshot-54 Screenshot-55 Screenshot-56 Screenshot-57 Screenshot-58 Screenshot-60 Screenshot-61

Eventually the date ended at the doorstep of Xavier’s apartment building.

“This was nice.” Xavier said, giving me a gorgeous smile. “And a lot of fun.”

“Is that a yes for a second date?” I asked with a mischievous smile.

Screenshot-62

“Definitely.” He replied softly.

There’d been a few instances during our date that could’ve led to a kiss, but never did. And now, standing here so close, staring into his eyes, there was no doubt this was another one.

So, my heart beating a little faster, I went for it, leaning forwards towards this man who was capable of making me melt with just a smile.

But Xavier’s smile faded a little, he inched away just a bit, and his eyes seemed to lose a little bit of their glow. And that confirmed that, for some reason, Xavier wasn’t ready for that step.

Screenshot-63

I had no intention of pushing him. So instead I placed a soft warm kiss on his cheek and I felt his smile come back.

I was going to do right by him, and if that meant waiting till he was ready no matter how much I wanted it, I didn’t mind.

I was determined not to push him away again.

 

 

 

Note: Mentioned it like once but Ed can’t ‘dance’ perse, his dad only taught him how to “waltz” and that’s it lol

*Snowball events were taken as is in the order they appeared*

Edmund being lovesick impedes on my ability to write properly without breaking down in happy incoherent mumblings. I MISSED XAVMUND.

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 8.60 – Subtle hints

  1. Senkime says:

    Awwww Xavmund is back!

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Lolz
      Yup, pretty much how I see him in my mind XD

      Like

      • Moon Mirage says:

        I was going to write a backstory for Evan and then my old computer with all my CC and games died. Yay 😦

        Liked by 1 person

        • blamsart says:

          Ahhhhh
          Tis not a day for sims 3.
          I made the horrible mistake of downloading the 1.69 patch, and my origin hates me, so my game just won’t open anymore. I wish you luck while I’m off to repair this really horrible dreadful mistake. (I should know better, I mean EA patches really…)

          Like

          • OMG O_O fix it! Fix it now! Must have Whitelights!!!! *can feel anxiety and withdrawal already spreading*
            Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

            Liked by 1 person

            • blamsart says:

              ITS OKAY ITS OKAY
              I think I fixed it! Well the game is loading now SO THATS GOOD NEWS *is slowly recovering from hours and hours of endless research*
              The sims will be the death of me.

              Like

              • *wipes sweat from brow and tightly crosses fingers while holding thumbs* Phew! I have never been so scared in my LIFE!!!
                Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

                Liked by 1 person

                • blamsart says:

                  I knew something was going to happen, it’s easily been a YEAR now that this particular save works well -_-‘ (It’s a miracle in and of itself)
                  Still waiting for the final judgement though. (yeah, my game is now at like 30-60 min loading time. At least I appreciated the 10min while it lasted) But things are looking good…

                  Like

  2. quackermole says:

    This makes me so happy!!!!
    THEY ARE JUST SO CUTE!! *pinches cheeks*
    And the sniper, I like him…. he seems groovy….
    YAY!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just had to comment again… Xavmund is one of my favourite couples in this story… Erin and Oli were my all time favourite though T_T maybe Erin and Evan will be a good fit too?!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Xavmund is my fav too (they always are), but I simply adore Olirin.
      I’m hoping those two will kick it off as well! They both need it.

      Like

      • What would we call them? Eran? Evin? Erev? Ever? I think I prefer Erev, personally… I just love how you subtly added in the bit where he was beaten up by the Russian mob for daring to try and leave the Russian mob… If it wasn’t for his comment to E about people not wanting people to leave (or something to that effect) one would just have assumed he ran afoul of someone during the course of his employment…

        Olirin is still my fav *sob*

        I wonder whether Annaliese could heal Charlotte?!? Would be kinda cool, then maybe she could end up with Xe, since I’m giving up on the Xeo ship! And then Xe and Charlotte could become Xelotte and each become a Xav-boo-mama… *what makes you think I really wanna see Xe-boos! I never got that far in my Cross Legacy, Xe had only just aged up to YA… Or was it teen?!? Heck, its been so long, I can’t even remember… TS4 has taken up all my time!)
        Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

        Liked by 1 person

        • blamsart says:

          I kind of like Ever, but call me cheesy cause it sounds like Happy Ever After (I really wish that for Erin)
          Mhm, and then he realized he kind of let that slip and he didn’t want pity so he bolted out of there.
          Hmm indeed? Charlotte has a genetic disease, could Annaliese heal that?
          Yeah, I kind of wanted Xeo to get back together, but I’m quickly seeing it’s not going to happen. They’re just not compatible anymore. I’ll find someone else for Xenia, but Charlotte is straight in my mind so that probably won’t happen…
          (I don’t know how you do it, I actually got bored of TS4…)

          Like

          • I guess I just think Xe is hot enough to turn even a straight girl gay lol cuz I also see Charlotte as straight in my head… Yeah, let’s go with Ever! E’s HEA is important and must be attained! Just like Xavmund must be fulfilled!!! I swear, I had a knot in my stomach when I thought they were finally going to kiss! And there where Xav took Ed’s arm while they were walking *le sigh* I like the little subtle nuances! Everyone is talking about when they were dancing together and I’m just thinking about Ed staring at him in the restaurant, Xav taking his arm, and the almost kisses that weren’t… But I have to admit that the first 2 are the ones that had me! Ed with that sappy look on his face as he finally has his first date with the man he loves… Xav taking the arm of the guy who broke his heart but who he never got over *le sigh*
            Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

            Liked by 1 person

            • blamsart says:

              Lolz yeah XD
              I probably won’t spend too much time on Xe’s love story, maybe a passing remark and some cute pictures of her with her chosen soulmate, and obviously nooboo pictures.
              Right now my priority is getting Erin and Xav’s HEAs! God knows they deserve it.
              Me just like the whole thing. All the stolen glances, and the touches, and the laughs, and the dances, and almost kisses, and the cheek kiss, it all in general made me very very happy. Thought I wouldn’t manage to get here at some point! Glad i was wrong 😀

              Like

              • Lol I don’t expect Xe to take a spotlight lol she is only a bit player after all 😀 but I’ll be glad to see the Xe-boos when they come! Maybe they could hook up with a future Whitelight 😀 ok, its 1am here and I don’t wanna make another infamous “league of legends” comment like I did a while back lol so always remember: zzzzzzzzz
                Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

                Liked by 1 person

  4. autumnrein says:

    I can’t wait to see what Happened with Erin and the Sniper. The date looks so cute. I’ve missed them too XD.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. *fluttery happy heart* ^_^ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

