Dance of the witches

I’m not just a writer, I’m an artist too as many of you have come to know over the chapters.

But I’ve been neglecting drawing (not counting the thousands of sketches I do a day) for a very long while now (about two years and a half, you know when I started this blog). The consequence of that is that when I do draw, I BINGE DRAW.

Like today! While my save was loading (it’s back to an hour now), I was suddenly struck with an intense inspiration to draw. So I whipped out my tablet, opened up paint tool sai, and with this epic music in my ears…

I started to draw. For FOUR* hours straight, I scribbled away, adding color, shading, lines, and magic.

It’s not perfect, it’s not exactly what I had in my mind, per usual, but it’s good enough. I’ve reached the point where if I spent more time on it, I’ll end up worsening it.

Here it is, I drew the scene that’s been replaying itself over and over in my mind for what seems like weeks now.

Dance of the witches

Dance of the witches

Niko looks like a girl and Niki’s arms look all floppy but WHATEVER, I’m still an amateur

 

 

 

*Could be three like it could be five. All I know is I started drawing and then I got a hand cramp and at least two-three hours had passed when I looked up. Then I went back to drawing.

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dance of the witches

  1. Oh wow! That is stunning! I can’t draw to save my life! Unless it’s something stupid, like a burning candle lol and even that is rudimentary at best!
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Thank you! I still don’t think it’s that great, especially compared to all those amazing artists I stalk, but that’s exactly why I keep practicing. Only way to get better really.

      Amusingly enough, a burning candle just happens to be the first thing I drew when I got my tablet XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t compare yourself to others *grrr* your style is uniquely you and I love it! Imagine if Picasso has said “oh, I want to paint like Van Gogh”!

        I think a burning candle is just about the easiest thing a person can draw lol
        Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

        Liked by 1 person

        • blamsart says:

          Aw that’s sweet.
          But really Magpie, a great way to learn is to learn off others. It’s BECAUSE I admired a bunch of artists on deviantart, because I adored and gazed upon their works of art for long periods of time, that I actually managed to improve!
          It’s one thing to practice on your own, but sometimes you need to figure out what it is you need to change.
          It’s the same with writing. I write as it comes to me, but sometimes I change things or I try things out because of other stories I read. I’ll see a technique an author used and I’ll be inspired to try something similar.
          I’m not thinking “I want to paint like van gogh!” I’m thinking “I want to be as talented as that person. I want to have as much control over what I draw as that person. If I can reach that level of detail, of precision, of dedication, then maybe one day I’ll be able to draw an exact replica of the image in my mind. And then, that’ll be my truest masterpiece.”

          Like

          • *chastened* yeah, I didn’t think of it that way. I just feel that in areas of creativity, a person should focus more on what’s in their heads/hearts than what someone else has done. That being said, I do realise that practice makes perfect and one should never stop learning. I think half my problem with drawing is that the picture in my head is too precise, so any variation in it immediately makes me tear it up and start again, and again, and again, ad infinitum… Also, I just can’t seem to find a style that fits me…
            Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

            Liked by 1 person

            • blamsart says:

              Definitely, when you create, it’s gotta be using a part of your soul for it to be something you can be proud of.
              I have the same problem. I still haven’t found a style I like and that I can keep consistent. But as you keep praciticing and trying new and different things, eventually you’ll hit the jackpot right? Well that’s what I’m hoping for.
              Writing is something I consider as an instinctual talent for me. Things just write themselves and i feel I have a good grasp on my style of writing.
              But drawing has always been a little more hardwork, a little more trying things out of my comfort zone, a little more fail, a little more intense proud moments.
              But, something that makes me happy, with both I get that moment where I start working on it and when I look up a good few hours have passed, because I just got too caught up in it.
              These are the types of adventures for which the ending is as good as the journey.
              (I’m in a really good music mood right now, which unfortunately probably means none of what was just written was done so in a cohesive fashion. Nonetheless, it made sense in my head!)

              Like

              • Totally made sense 😀 or maybe the fact that I’m crazy just helped lol

                Yeah, I’m not an excessively creative person. I tend to be more analytical. Give me a logic puzzle and I’m in my element. There’s a reason why sudoku (suduko? Soduko? I can never spell the bloody thing correctly) is one of my favourite ways to unwind… My latest addiction is hidden object games! Especially those that tell you to look for something by giving you a clue to what it is and not the actual name. Or give you the name but it’s misleading (like club, but its not a wooden club, its the suit clubs from playing cards). What makes you think I finally downloaded that Caribbean thing that Origin gave us on the house a while back lol. Unfortunately, I’ve beaten it on sandbox mode, so now it’s time to try the timed mode (OMG I’m gonna die!) But, I’m hoping my relatively good memory will help me remember where stuff is on the pictures lol (my version of a cheat)
                Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

                Liked by 1 person

                • blamsart says:

                  Seems we have a lot in common lol. I have a stash of word searches and sudoku for when I have nothing to do, and every year someone buys me a hidden objects game because they know I adore it XD

                  Like

                  • Yeah XD maybe that’s why we get on so well 🙂 although word searches tend to be more my mom’s thing than mine… I get weird with them, like I have to finish them in a certain amount of time and I get antsy when that doesn’t happen… Sort of like I’m trying to beat my own record lol
                    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

                    Liked by 1 person

  2. inkbiotic says:

    Beautiful picture and really like the music too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. quackermole says:

    Awesome!!
    You are very tallented!
    I wish i could draw, but personally i am better at the craft end of the spectrum (sewing, carving styrofome, making minatures etc), and can never ever seem to get much of a likeness when drawing anything, but your drawing captured them very well!
    XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. autumnrein says:

    Its beautiful. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. savantestarr says:

    I’d call Nikita a Spirit Dancer, magic being released while dancing. Feel free to use that if you want because I am sure there’s probably going to be Nikki babies in the next generation.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is so pretty. I keep looking at it again and again. I think I especially love the black and red….and just the pure joy on both their faces. So awesome to see 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

