9.9 – You win some, You lose some

So I did join the chapters finally, and cut some/moved some stuff. Anywho enjoy 😛

(Short chap)

 Screenshot

Nikolas’ POV

Zac better win this challenge.

Summer camp is almost half over and I still don’t have that riddle! This is getting ridiculous.

On top of that Kaan’s team already won 2/7 challenges? We can’t let them win anymore!

Screenshot-2

“Come on Zac!”

“You can beat the red head Kaan!”

Cheers were exploding from our place on land. Everybody was up and feeling cheery today…and desperately wanting to win. We were approaching the half-mark. If Kaan’s team won this round, we’d have little luck in actually winning this competition.

Screenshot-4

If Zac won however…that could finally give my team the stepping stone we need to finally take control of this competition.

(I can’t stop looking at his tattoos for some reason. I never really thought about it, but it’d be pretty neat to get one)

So far Zac was doing well. He was stable on his feet, and gaining points with twists and turns on his surfboard. Kaan was doing the same, making it seem like this might end in a tie.

Screenshot-5

“Don’t be stupid Kaan!” Tatiana shouted as Kaan decided to try and gain a lot of extra points. He performed a handstand on his board, his arms barely trembling.

Zac why aren’t you doing a handstand? Damn it, with this Kaan’ll win…

Screenshot-6

But a few moments later and Kaan’s board shook a little too much. He fell headfirst into the water, automatically giving Zac the victory.

My team exploded with relieved cheers.

We’d won! We’d actually won!

***

Screenshot-7

“Gnubb?” I asked. Wow, I haven’t seen this game around often.

“A classic here at Camp HanzenHall.” Dawn said.

“There’s no question who’s the champion here though right?” Kenya said with a smug smile.

Screenshot-8

“Indeed! Our Kenya here is the Gnubb Queen. Take it from me, she’s never lost a Gnubb challenge.” Dawn said, presenting our champion.

“Well I’m convinced.” Zac said with a shrug, sliding his hand on Dawn’s waist.

“Ok sure. I’ve never played Gnubb anyway.” I said with a nod.

Screenshot-9

Exchanging a pair of looks that we’re gag worthy, Dawn and Zac walked away hand in hand, claiming there was no use training for it then.

Meanwhile my hand was practically trembling with anticipation. All it wanted to do was reach into my pocket and pull out the precious piece of paper folder in four. The one Flo the counselor had given me with a congratulations once Kaan and Zac got off their surfing boards.

Screenshot-10

“Sooo we don’t need to stay do we?” I said, anxiously shifting from side to side.

Kenya shrugged. “Well if half our team is gone, there’s not much sense in staying.”

Screenshot-11

“Awesome!” I exclaimed, waving and backing away. “So I’ll just-” My hand was already in my pocket.

“Yeah, yeah, bye.” She said waving me off and looking over at Kaan’s team. Probably considering going over to watch them train.

Screenshot-12

I quickly jogged over to the side of the lake, hastily pulling out the riddle.

I don’t know how I managed to not look at it in the past twenty minutes. Let the treasure hunt commence.

 

Reach the sky

1 2 3 4

But not too high

Keep the bark in line

Lest he trample it

Screenshot-13

Um…high and bark? A tree?

But the numbers…steps I have to take maybe?

But what’s with the last phrase? Trample what? Is it the treasure?

This is going to be a little more complicated than I thought.

Screenshot-14

I started to make my way to the little hill near the road. During lunch the counselors had given a little speech about a tradition the camp had. We’d pretty much reached the half way point to the competition, and if we wanted there was a tradition of rubbing the statue on the hill for good luck.

Wouldn’t hurt…and we could see the whole camp from the hill, maybe I could get some clues.

Screenshot-15

Some giggling.

The numbers are frustrating me. Is it the number of trees around it? Is it related to the buildings? Who’s he?

Some moaning?

I looked up and regretted it.

Screenshot-16

Zac and Dawn were exchanging germs right beside the traditional luck statue.

That’s one way to rub it.

“Jeesus Christ!” I let out, the couple barely even showed a sign of being ashamed of having been caught. Zac just shooed me away with his face still glued to hers.

I didn’t need to be told twice.

Is that all this guy can think about?

Bleh!

***

The next day…

Screenshot-17

“Niko, is that the riddle?” Salandra asked, peeking over my shoulder at the riddle I couldn’t help but look at over and over again.

“The one and only. I haven’t figured it out yet though.” I said, narrowing my eyes.

Screenshot-18

“Bark? Like a dog?” She noticed.

“No more like tree. See? It talks about height a lot, so probably the bark of a tree.” I replied.

“Oh…there are a lot of trees here.”

“Yeah and this place is old, so if it is based on a tree there’s no certainty the tree even looks the same.” I voiced. I have a feeling the guy who made it would’ve thought of that though.

Screenshot-19

“You’ve got this Zac.” Dawn encouraged as Zac arrived after having changed. Today was the Rock Climbing challenge, and Zac was facing against Tatiana.

“Ha, it’ll be easy as pie. She is a girl after all.” Zac said with a smug shrug.

Kenya snorted.

Screenshot-20

“She’d looked pretty good to me.” Sal said.

“Yeah, I wouldn’t underestimate her cause she’s a girl.” I added. I’ve had a few surprises lately…Like Salandra with the archery challenge. And that girl at the bank. The masked one with the gun.

My age, and she looked like she could hold her own. Didn’t hesitate to shoot at me (holy hell that was scary) and she never once believed my bluff.

I wonder who she is.

Screenshot-21

“Don’t be over confident just cause you won the last one.” Kenya warned as Zac made his way over to his station.

“Yeah, yeah.” He said waving us off.

Screenshot-22

“I’m not reckless like Kaan.” Tatiana warned. “Don’t expect to win so easily.”

“This’ll be interesting.” Zac said.

Screenshot-23

“Get ready.” Jo the counselor announced, effectively shutting up the conversations still happening. Zac and Tatiana stepped onto their platforms.

The rules were simple. First to touch the button at the top wins.

“Go!”

Both contestants gripped the first step and started to drag themselves upwards. And for the first few seconds they were going at exactly the same speed. It’s half way up that Tatiana suddenly sped up and actually propelled herself upwards, easily reaching up to the top with her jump alone.

Screenshot-24

Kaan shook his head as Sal and I bore shocked faces as Tatiana hung from one arm only. “That’s Ana for you.”

Tatiana set both her feet on the wall, climbed up a few centimeters and reached for the button.

Screenshot-25

The blaring sound resounded as Sal and I were still silent in shock, and I had no doubt Zac was as surprised as we were, considering he’d stopped climbing all together the moment she’d jumped.

That was quite possibly the shortest of the challenges so far.

Screenshot-26

“Fucking hell.” Zac muttered.

Kaan’s team exploded in cheers, with Sal eventually joining in.

Jeesus girls can be freaky scary sometimes. I’m really not okay with the fact that I know I can’t do shit like that.

Screenshot-27

Tatiana jumped off and landed on her feet as Zac jumped off from the small height he’d gotten to.

“That’s another point for our team!” She exclaimed.

3 wins for them, one for us, and only 3 more challenges to go.

We’re going to have to win them all.

***

Screenshot-28

Next up, quite possibly the most exciting challenge so far.

“Can’t be that hard to break a plank in two.” I said, trying to see what area would be better to strike.

“I’m leaving this one to you.” Zac said. “Wouldn’t be fair if I was champion three times.”

“Yeah, yeah those are just excuses.” I smirked.

“Kenya, kenya, look, look.” Dawn said, elbowing Kenya.

“Yeah I can see it too Dawn.”

“I want to pick it up.”

“Are you stupid? It probably has rabies.” If Kenya has to use the word ‘probably’ then whatever it is clearly doesn’t have rabies.

Screenshot-29

“Eh!?” Dawn exclaimed. “Come on kitty don’t be shy.”

“Don’t push it, it’ll scratch you.”

“But it’s so cute!”

Zac sighed. “Are you going to hit it already?”

“Don’t stress me just because you lost against a girl.” I warned.

Screenshot-30

“Look who’s talking.” Zac scoffed.

“This takes utmost concentration. Like in all those movies. Hit the wrong spot and your hand is the one that takes the hit.” I said, balancing on one leg.

“It’s a weak board. Just sit on it and it’ll break.” Zac said, his impatience growing. I glanced back at him.

“Hey you never did answer, but it was because of you my sister stumbled onto the road right?” I asked as unnicely as I could. Zac replied with as neutral a look as he could muster before he finally left me to go join the girls.

Screenshot-31

Once he was gone I hit the middle of the board and it broke. I smirked. I’m actually going to train for this challenge. I mean, after all everyone on the other team except Sal have already come to summer camp before, which means they’ve probably had the opportunity to practice more. And I really want us to win this competition.

Kenya clapped once. “Good to see you’re finally into it and participating.” She said.

Screenshot-32

Oh. “Just cause you guys need my help.”

Yeah. Guess it kind of just snuck up on me. Before it was just to get the riddle, but now it’s cause I really want to see the other team lose.

And I mean, we can totally win this competition, I know we can. Even if we’re losing right now.

Doesn’t mean I’m going to stop treasure hunting obviously.

Screenshot-33

I’ll find the answer I’m sure. Just gotta figure out where to start.

Reach the sky

1 2 3 4

But not too high

Keep the bark in line

Lest he trample it.

 

 

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 9.9 – You win some, You lose some

  1. Darn you and your riddle! I’m not even going to TRY to figure it out lol but, I’m going to be suitable amazed when the answer is revealed lol

    I will say that I don’t think the answer is as obvious as a tree though!

    It’s really nice to see Niko getting involved, even if only because he’s a competitive dumb-ass lol (and I can say that cuz I’m a competitive dumb-ass too, which is why I’m not trying the riddle cuz I hate to lose!)

    Give us more Sal please!

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      ooF! *wipes forehead* Thought for a second there it’d be too easy.
      I love it! Competition makes for fun plot stuff 😛
      Ask and ye shall receive.

      Like

  2. Ica says:

    Well you kinda threw the answer in our face with that riddle 😀 good job, and yay Sal!

    Now to wait for Niko to clue in lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Figured it out? Heh, we’ll have to see if you found the right answer.
      Thanks 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Figured it out?!? Seriously?!? Now I just feel dumb 😦 is it possible to send PMs on WP? Cuz I’d really like to be clued in too! *spoiler alert* I love spoilers… Maybe mail me? Please!
        Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Ica says:

        I hope I got it right… But it seems a little too easy for what you do lol 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • That’s why I’m not even going to speculate lol Blams has this wonderfully unique spin on things and I’m sure HRH of the Sims Stories will amaze us once again! I think I’m just gonna sit back and enjoy the ride lol
          Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

          Liked by 2 people

          • blamsart says:

            🙂
            Ok, call me ignorant, but what does HRH stand for? heh

            Like

            • His(or Her) Royal Highness ;-P I’m getting tired of speculating on your gender too lol so HRH was a nice neutral, open to interpretation, option lol so be prepared to be called HRHotSS lol or HRHSS for short lol but only when I don’t feel like referring to you by name 😉 hope you don’t mind? I can stop? I was recently asked by someone to not shorten their name as the shortened meaning was not appealing to anyone lol
              Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

              Liked by 1 person

              • blamsart says:

                Haha, that’s what I thought but I wasn’t sure XD
                Nah I don’t mind lol. Guess I got a soft spot for royalty like the green-haired Blams.
                My real name is rather bland (probably why I name my sims stuff like Rosahelminthe) so any nickname/shortened version is better 😛

                Like

                • Well, I spent my formative years absolutely hating my name: Stephanie. It was just way too hoity-toity for me lol but, that being said, I’ve had 33 years to get used to it and it’s kinda grown on me lol
                  Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

                  Liked by 1 person

        • blamsart says:

          XD
          I’m hoping I can surprise everyone when the answer comes!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. autumnrein says:

    Hmm.. I’m thinking I know what the riddle is XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha, Niko seems to get along well with Zac to be honest. It’s very rare that you see him as interested by a person as he is by Zac. Niko is intrigued by him, wants to know more about him, has the least patronizing conversations with him, and even likes checking out his tattoos! XD I mean, I’m not saying I ship them, but….I’m not saying I’m not either! XD

    Then againnnnnnnn I do rather like Dawn and Zac and Dawn look pretty awesome together! And honestly, it’s just kind of clear that romance is the very last thing on Niko’s mind, lol. He still acts like a 7-year-old when it comes to that. Gets grossed out by couples kissing and hasn’t shown attraction to anyone at all so far. So far his number one love is a mystery!!! And in this riddle I think he’s found his perfect match 😉 On that note too, it’s probably why he’s so interested by Zac: In a way, he’s a riddle too!

    Lastly: NEON GREEN KITTY YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Skcaga6 says:

    I think the riddle involves something stone and not a tree. I THINK I may know what it is. Not certain though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

