9.47 – Preoccupied

What is with my one word titles, goodness

Hey guys, I know I’m exactly on my deadline, but don’t expect a longer chapter -_-, I’ve just been really busy this week haha

Nikolas’ POV

screenshot

My wand huffed out a weak amount of smoke like it was giving out its last breath. I gave it a quick shake and a small dull spark trickled out, but the wand felt as down as I did.

“Nikolas, can you try and concentrate?” Dad asked me impatiently. We’d been at this for half an hour and my wand was still just as unresponsive. It just didn’t feel like it. A little like me.

Actually, a lot like me.

“Sorry dad, I’m just…not in it.” I said with a small shrug.

His face softened.

screenshot-2

“We talked about this…”

“I know, I know.” I said, quickly interrupting him. The moment I’d gotten home from school I’d shared the news about Elvis’ brother to my parents and Niki. Dad and pa had decided they should call or maybe visit Elvis’ parents to pay their respects.

I’d talked to Elvis once, on the phone, and Salandra and I were thinking of stopping by to check up on him this weekend. We didn’t want to impose or anything – this is kind of a family matter.

“I need you to focus on your magic Nikolas. You only practice with me, which isn’t enough. You should be finding time on your own to practice.” Dad lightly scolded.

I nodded quickly. “Yeah, yeah I know.” Practicing is just really boring. Plus, usually, a normal spell drains me for the rest of the day. So you can guess how exhausting practicing magic with dad is.

screenshot-3

I took in another breath to try and force my wand to spit out a rope (weirdest spell over, saw dad do it and it looked like he was popping an invisible button and the rope was the pus pouring out. It was weird okay!).

All dad has to do is wave a finger and he can cast even the toughest of spells. Me? Takes a ton of arm waving, having the right grip on my wand, saying the words to have a simple spell work. My dad’s the strongest witch alive! Sometimes I just kind of wish I’d inherited more of that. Would make practicing a lot easier.

screenshot-4

After another a failed attempt and wheeze from my wand, I heard the galloping pawsteps of Nato finishing his rounds around the house.

Nato’s routine usually led to that after we go on our jog across the river. We’d come back and he’d set about running around the house. Pretty sure it’s him making sure we’re safe. He started it after the news started talking about the increased muggings and assaults on both naturals and supernaturals. It’s like some kind of competition. The naturals were picking on the supernaturals, and now the latter have started to get pissed and to pick on the naturals.

screenshot-5

I put away my wand as Nato ran towards me, a grin on my face. He barked once to tell me everything was fine before he tackled me. I laughed and pet his back as his tail wagged.

“I’m practicing magic buddy, wanna stay and watch?”

“No. He’ll distract you.”

“Nah, it’ll be fine!” I said as Nato sat down beside me, giving me a tongue drooping grin when I looked at him.

screenshot-6

“No it won’t. You’re already having a hard enough time. He’ll get jumpy with the magic. Nato go back inside.” Dad ordered and Nato stayed where he was as if he’d suddenly become deaf. “Nato…” Dad said in a warning tone. Nato didn’t respond any more.

“Go on boy, I’ll only be here for another who knows how many hours.” I told Nato, and he closed his mouth – visibly unhappy – before heading inside.

I turned back to my dad who had an unhappy expression, waiting for me to start up again. With a sigh I lifted up my wand. The giddiness of seeing my dog dissipated and I dropped back into my sullen mood.

I just….needed to know – could I have done anything more to help Elvis’ brother?

***

screenshot-7

I feel bad.

I was hardcore looking into what happened to Elvis’ brother and then – and then I just kind of drifted off a bit. What with discovering my basement, figuring out Tatiana had to be that robber and really finding out more about my astral power…it kind of got sidelined.

God I feel really bad about that. I mean, I made a promise to Elvis.

My colleague tapped my shoulder. “Come back to us Nikolas.” She said with an amused tone.

screenshot-8

It was the same girl Sal and I had briefly crossed at the arcade, Lila. She started working here, just twice a week. And she always has different colored hair, which isn’t something you see often. Actually the concept of dying your hair is kind of frowned upon. But it’s only her ends, so most people don’t really notice the difference. Still the manager usually insists I work with the customers when it’s just us two. She quirked an eyebrow. “You’re usually the more down to earth of us, and now you’re over filling coffee.”

screenshot-9

“Oh shit- darn machine still won’t stop on its own.” I mumbled, quickly snatching the coffee cup and cleaning up the mess with a rag.

“Are you doing okay?” She asked frowning a bit.

“Me? Yeah I’m fine. Fine and ready to serve!” I declared, saluting her. She smiled and I grabbed my tray to go serve the coffee.

screenshot-10

It was a slow day, with a few kids from my school chilling out on the couches, and our usual customer. Sebastien hadn’t met anyone today, instead he’d brought a pile of files to examine and write notes on. He did that often these days.

I wonder if one of those is about Dexter, Elvis’ brother?

screenshot-11

I called him today. Told him he should pass by the café to say hi. His parents didn’t like visitors, so going to see him wasn’t easy.

He said he didn’t know. I told him I’d reserve the corner banquet seats for him so he’d be isolated. He said he’d think about it.

I don’t think he’s going to show up.

I put Sebastien’s coffee down in front of him and turned to leave when I heard him shift.

screenshot-12

“Well color me surprised. You didn’t even peek at my folders today.” He said, nonetheless placing his arm over what I guessed was the more sensitive information.

The guy brings his case files to a café, easily seen by anyone passing by, so there’s absolutely nothing wrong with peeking from time to time.

I shrugged. “Meh, just a little distracted.”

“Thinking about the Klose family?”

screenshot-13

“Can you tell me what happened? Did you ever find a lead? That could’ve helped him? I’ve been thinking it over again and again and I just don’t know what we could’ve done, but there must’ve been something!” I questioned, sitting down in front of him.

He leaned back into his seat. “You’re beating yourself up over this.” He said, stating an obvious fact. “There’s absolutely nothing you could’ve done.”

screenshot-14

The fact that he feels to need to reassure me pisses me off a little. “I know.” I groaned. “But at the same time….I told him I’d do my best to help his brother and I didn’t.” The fact that I want to be reassured also pisses me off a little.

He took a sip of his coffee. “His brother was already doomed the moment we’d found him. We only found him because whoever did this realized the Klose kid was too far gone. The ink they used for the tattoo had already reached his heart. The kid’s body tried its best to fight it off, but he was too weak.”

I sunk further in my seat. “Who did this? Why do it?”

screenshot-15

“Supernatural extremists, possibly, attempting to see if they can artificially create supernaturals.” Sebastien shrugged.

“Can they?” I asked. “The guy who could make flames, he’s still alive right?”

He hesitated, taking a long sip of his coffee. “Yes. It did work, but he went through a horrible experience.” I glanced outside wondering what kind of horrible thing that kid had to go through – what Dexter must’ve gone through. “We’ll find them eventually.”

“Can I do anything to help?” I asked, glancing at the pile of case files he’d brought closer to him.

“Yeah, don’t die. Body counts are depressing.” He said. I waited for the rest. “If you really want to help that bad, join the police force when you’re older. We need inquisitive minds like yours.”

I wrung my hands on the table. “But I’m a…I’m a witch.” Cops kind of have a reputation of being bad at their job because they’re all naturals.

“That’s a silly rumor.” He said, reading my mind. “We’ve had supernatural cops before. There’s nothing bad about it.”

“But what do I do meanwhile? Twiddle my thumbs?” I scoffed.

“You could keep doing your job before you get called on.” He said. I glanced over at the counter where Lila was giving me a look. A manager’s-about-to-come-say-hi look.

“Right.” I mumbled, grabbing my tray and heading back.

***

screenshot-16

“Are you ready?” Nikita asked me with a playful smirk.

“Ready as I’ll ever be.” I said with a half-hearted shrug.

She’d come up to me the other day, shaking her head at how down I seemed and she figured the best way to cheer me up was to – wait for it – take me out dancing. In one of her fancy clubs.

screenshot-17

“It’s not a fancy club, but it’s one of the only ones I go to that’ll accept a minor.” She said. Right not a fancy club. It’s all the same to me, considering she always wears fancy clothing for it.

Not really my type of favorite activity, but I thought I’d give it a try. And maybe get my sister off my back, because I do not look depressed! Nor am I!

She asked pa and dad and they apparently gave the go ahead just as long as I respect the curfew (bleh).

screenshot-18

“Are you sure you don’t want to change into something else?” She tried again.

“Like what? This is fine.” I said with a shrug. What does she expect? A suit and a tie? HAHA.

“With the…” She gestured at my forehead.

“The bandana stays. It helps protect against the stupid.” Weeds out the judgemental. Plus I’ve developed a sentimental attachment to my ninja gear.

“Makes you look stupid.” She mumbled, but dropped the subject.

The whole taxi ride over, my sister would not shut up about dancing and how getting back to her usual clubs had been easier than she’d thought and her knees are still fragile but it doesn’t stop her from dancing and it does get a little lonely because all her old friends kind of either avoid her or have just moved on from the whole dancing at clubs thing, of course there’s one club she’s never alone, but that’s only for her special Fridays and bladibladibla.

The ride didn’t give me any hope for the evening.

screenshot-19

But it did turn out to be kind of fun. Not something I would repeat, but I don’t regret it. It was nice to see my sister so enthusiastic about sharing this passion of hers with me in a different way.

She got so into telling me about her tricks and tips on getting a drink at the bar that she nearly offered to get me one. Then she remembered I’m kind of still a minor.

I hadn’t realized she was into alcohol. I mean, I figured what with our dad’s strict rules on it and our uncle Alistair’s obvious sad fate because of such indulgences…that she’d have the same view on it that I have.

screenshot-20

While we danced, a few guys and girls came up to grind against my sister and that was just kind of really weird. Good thing she turned them all away, because I was ready to tell them to screw off.

We danced for maybe an hour or two before Niki said I was probably getting tired (which I was, but I’m guessing her knees were starting to hurt a little).

screenshot-21

We sat down on the comfy looking seats in an isolated part of the club where the music was muffled. I waited for the inevitable classic ‘GET WELL SOON’ speech from my sister.

“If you liked it, there are a couple of other ones I could probably sneak you into!” Nikita started. “Actually, there’s really just one that I wouldn’t take you to, but that’s cause I already have a dancing partner.”

“Mr.Prince charming?” I teased.

“I kind of like the sound of that.” She said glancing away with a smile.

“Who is he?”

“I don’t know.”

I gaped at her. It’d been weeks since she first told me about him. “You still don’t?”

screenshot-23

“I don’t need to. Dancing every Friday is more than enough.” She said with that same smitten tone.

I still couldn’t believe what I was hearing. “You’ve been seeing him once a week and you have no idea if he’s a psychopath or not?”

“Don’t be paranoid, it’s not like I go home with him. We just dance.” She rolled her eyes at me.

screenshot-22

“Tsk sounds stupid. I thought you liked him. Why don’t you, ya know, get to know him.” Geez, my sister should know better than this.

“It’s more romantic this way…if we keep the mystery with our masquerade masks.” She answered simply. I shook my head. And people say I risk my life on stupid things. There’s nothing romantic about not knowing who someone is.

“This is why there’s no way I’d take you. You’d ruin it.” She scoffed.

Yeah you bet I would. We’d uncover who it was in a heartbeat.

Hm, maybe I should butt in. After all, Niki’s never stopped herself from butting into my affairs. Seems only fair.

 

 

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 9.47 – Preoccupied

  1. magpie14031983 says:

    I’m hoping “Prince Charming” is Tyzel, so I can get back on the NikZal ship again… Hmmm… NikZel… NikSal… NikZac… Pattern appears… Although, I’m leaning towards the Zacolas ship more than the NiKZac ship for some reason…

    Can you tell I’ve worked late 2 nights in a row with min sleep lol

    Totally understand RL getting in the way of… Well… RL lol I’m in the same position lately too!
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raymondsanti says:

    How long has Niko had this coffee shop job? Maybe I just don’t remember it…….. My memory is kinda shot these days :/ And hmm, I wonder about this prince charming

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Livvielove says:

    I lack in creativity so
    BLAMS
    Y IS THERE ALL DIS WHITE SPACE AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS UPDATE WHERE NIKO’S ADVENTURES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE?

    Just kidding. I loved this update. Nikita should take a page from her brother’s book.
    Man… that bandana really *does* repel stupid. Niki was backing away from it… heh.
    WHERE’S MY SALLIE?
    This update was lovely but it’s missing SALLIE. THOUGH we did get a “WE” from Niko in reference to SALLIE and HIMSELF.
    Not just Sallie and I, but WE.
    Collective UNIT thinking.
    NIKSAL SHIPPING!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gcgrad says:

    Does the ink for the supernatural tattoos always eventually kill the recipient? If so, that doesn’t bode well for Tatiana.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You know at first I was little surprised at Xavier’s slight exasperation with Nikolas, but then I mulled it over for a bit and realized that it’s only because he’s scared and trying to protect Nikolas. Niko needs to use his magic for his own health (as Xavier learned in the worst way possible), and in general the world is getting more dangerous than ever and being able to master even a few of these simple spells could make all the difference if Nikolas gets stuck in a life-threatening situation. Simple spells like conjuring a rope at will. Course right now I can’t blame Nikolas at all for not feeling up to it—I can’t get over what happened to Elvis’ brother. It’s just so awful and I, like Nikolas, am desperate to find out who the hell’s behind it so an immediate stop can be put to it.

    Also it looks like that red-haired lady is still keeping close tabs on Niko, just adding to the feeling that everything is getting steadily more dangerous. Any group that has Assaria as a collaborator is likely not one you’d like to invite to parties. And then of course that video game ad….I still remember that it was posted in their “lair” as well! Bad feelings abound, but I am happy that Nikita has found happiness =) She’s been through so much, and seeing her slowly regain her passion and confidence is a nice breath of fresh air in this foreboding climate.

    As always, looking forward to more ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      Yes, Xav just wants to make sure Niko has enough cards on the table to defend himself.
      This makes me happy, you people notice things XD
      You said it, wouldn’t touch anything related to Assaria with a ten foot pole. Even IF she’s become amnesiac…her “willingness” doesn’t seem to have diminished.
      It was a slow process, but Niki’s getting there! 🙂
      Thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment