1.11 – Millie Part 1

Screenshot

Millie’s POV

I hugged Aunt Anna goodbye and my fingers grazed her silky wings. She told me to be good and left for work. I love my aunt Anna, and she serves for comfort to me when my big brother mocks me. He doesn’t like supernaturals and I’m a witch, so he’ll never like me.

Talking about my big brother, there he goes out the door. I’ve learned to distinguish my siblings footsteps. I used to tell him to not go when Aunt Anna isn’t there, because she always tells us to stay home until she comes back, but when I do he would yell at me and shove me and laugh at me. So I let him go. He gets punished when he comes back anyways.

There go another set of footsteps. Its Keena, which doesn’t surprise me, she tends to follow him. Our family is pretty peculiar. We are sort of separated into three groups. The supernaturals, and supernatural lovers, which include Aunt Anna, me and Clarice. There is the group that hates supernaturals, which is just composed of Christopher. And then there’s the I-don’t-care/I’m-with-both-sides group, which is made up of Felicia and Keena. I wish we could be just one big loving family.

I head outside for some fresh air, I haven’t ever left the house, so everything that is ours is familiar to me.  I easily find the front bench and sit down on it, enjoying the sounds of the birds and far away cars.

Another set of footsteps approaches, a set I don’t recognize. I don’t move as I feel the person sit down beside me. The weight shift isn’t enormous so they must be around my age.

“Hi.” The voice is clearly a boy’s.

“Hi,” I answer feeling a bit more secure.

“Why aren’t you in school?”

“Why aren’t you in school?” I’m starting to feel like a copycat. He laughs.

“I’m skipping!”

“I’m homeschooled.” Since our family is a bit odd, and Aunt Anna doesn’t trust that the schools will be confident in my ability to learn even without my sight, she’s decided to homeschool us. Christopher wasn’t too happy. It was supposed to be his out. He rebelled against Anna in the beginning and Keena had to help him learn, cause he would only listen to her. She’s the only one he likes. He doesn’t even like Felicia because he thinks she has some sort of mental problem.

“Hey you wanna hang out somewhere else?” The boy asked.

“I can’t. I can’t leave the house if my Aunt isn’t there.”

“Oh that’s no fun.  Rules are boring…hey why aren’t you looking at me?” I don’t see people often, so this was a little bit of a shock.

“I’m blind.” I replied.

“Would you hang out with me if you weren’t blind?”

The idea was so preposterous. I had always been blind! “Maybe.” I replied.

“Cool!” He said as I felt him get up and run off. Well that was a bit odd.

 

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1.11 – Millie Part 1

  1. Aww, Millie is such a good little person. I really feel sorry for her. I was waiting for the picture to load, but then it hit me – you’re so stupid Kate, Millie is blind! I thought the black screenshot was brilliant idea to represent her point of view 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. liezemies says:

    I think the black screenshot was a really good idea. Even though it is a little weird not seeing anything, like other screenshots. But it does make me understand Millie so much better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily Anne says:

    That was honestly so cool! Really put you in the perspective of Millie, I feel sad and happy all at the same time. Seriously I can’t stress enough how awesome an idea that was!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment