7.13 – Off the tracks

ScreenshotJames’ POV

“Oh no.” Mariposa muttered as she saw the notice on the board.

Quiz today – Only pencils on the tables

Our English teacher had decided to give us one last quiz before the finals started.

Mariposa looked at me in worry. “James…I forgot to study.”

‘I’m not helping you cheat.’ I signed at her with a slight smile.

“Obviously not. Could you just…maybe have the teacher delay the quiz to another day?”

Screenshot-2

I stared at her in bewilderment.

‘You want me to control the teacher?’

She let out a slightly strained sigh, looking at the ceiling and then back at me. “I’m not asking you to cheat James. I just kind of need the 5% this is going to get me.”

‘You should’ve studied.’ I signed a bit hesitantly. I’d been using my power more than I wanted these days.

Screenshot-3

“I know, and I will from now. It’s just a postponement, can’t you do it just this once for me? Please?” Mariposa asked again.

After a few seconds of trying to resist her pleading face, I finally caved in. ‘Okay. Just this once.’

“Thanks!” She said, flashing me a smile and squeezing my hand.

Screenshot-4

Control a teacher…I’d never dared to do that before…

I took in a deep breath and concentrated. I found her open mind easily and I casually inserted the thought of postponing the quiz.

At first there was no reaction. I didn’t know if it’d worked, I’d only ever done this on teenagers, but the teacher took off the notice.

She turned around and told us she thought she’d be nice today and postpone the quiz. Instead we would do revision for the final exam.

Screenshot-5

Mariposa gave me a huge smile and a thumbs up.

I tried to smile back, but my face refused to move that way.

I just didn’t feel like celebrating that much right now.

***

Screenshot-6

With Mariposa, I think it’s moments like these that I prefer.

I really like Mariposa, she’s beautiful, she’s a really nice kisser and her optimism tends to lighten the mood.

But…it’s when we’re just hanging out, silently, that I feel the most comfortable. Seeing her smile is always nice, but it can be a little bit intimidating sometimes. It’s kind of weird.

She’s great she really is, even though she keeps pushing me to use my power…I don’t know if she’s doing it on purpose of its just a bunch of coincidences. Either way, I’m grateful for these little moments of peace where I can drift off in my own thinking.

It’s also usually when I start feeling bad that I’m not hanging out with Joshua and Jamie as much anymore. Joshua said he gets it, same thing happened when he had a girlfriend (yeah he broke up with her a few weeks ago). I frowned at him when he had said that, cause I don’t remember him ever not seeing us as much…

Screenshot-7

I’m getting a little scared.

After each and every time I use my power, I have this foreign feeling that nestles in my chest for the next few hours…At first it disgusted me. It felt weird and uncomfortable and it didn’t make me want to control someone again. But it’s slowly getting to be…not as bad. It’s almost-

Screenshot-8

The door opened and Aliska walked in.

“Okay, guys I’m ready.” She said.

“Alrighty let’s go.” Mariposa said as she got off the bed.

I’m confused. Where are we going? It’s nearing the school’s curfew too…

Plus, why is Aliska wearing such a skimpy outfit?

Screenshot-9

“We’re just going someplace for a few minutes James. It’s for Aliska, she needs to meet someone.” Mariposa explained.

“Yes now let’s go before the teachers catch us.” Aliska urged.

Mariposa saw my non-willing expression. “Don’t worry, it’ll be quick. It’s not like we’ll do anything illegal.”

***

Screenshot-10

Nothing illegal? My ass. We went to a bar! And not one for minors.

The two had me control the bouncer to make him think we were of age.

Screenshot-11

The moment we stepped inside, Aliska headed for the bar.

I tried to go after her, I was already having some SERIOUS second thoughts about this, but Mariposa stopped me.

‘It’s one thing to get into a bar, it’s another to start drinking.’ I argued.

“Don’t worry James,” Mariposa said over the music. “She’s not going to drink, she came to meet someone remember? Come over and see.”

Screenshot-12

It was true, Aliska was heading for the light blue-haired man sitting at the bar. I narrowed my eyes examining him, but there was nothing familiar about him.

Wait. Is she dating this guy? But he’s way older than her!

“Aliska says he’s called the Caterpillar. Don’t ask me why, I really don’t know.”

‘Why does she want to see him?’ I asked Mariposa.

Screenshot-13

“Probably has something to do with the fact he’s a truth see-er.” Mariposa replied.

A truth see-er…I vaguely remember who those are…

“You know…it’s one of the eye-supernatural types.” Mariposa tried to explain as she saw me thinking. “They have completely black eyes. Some people say it’s because the truth they see was so horrible it blacked them out. Of course now their eyes aren’t really completely black anymore. They used to be, but you know with the supernaturals overall power descending rapidly…” Mariposa trailed off.

That’s true. Werewolves don’t completely change into wolves anymore, witches aren’t as strong and I guess now some vampires don’t have fangs anymore…

“Anyway, enough chit chat. Let’s go dance while we wait for her to finish.” Mariposa exclaimed, pulling me towards the dance floor.

Screenshot-14

So, I let go of the worries that had already started to form and I just danced in the, not that crowded, bar.

I kept throwing a glance Aliska’s way though.

Screenshot-15

But the man, weird and suspicious as he looked, barely ever made a move during the whole conversation. He’d puff smoke from his cigarette and say a few words, but that was it.

And that at least relieved me a bit.

Screenshot-16

Dancing was fun, but when we finally got out of the bar I was happy. I more than wanted to go back to school now. We were past our curfew.

Unfortunately it seemed like I didn’t have much of a choice in what was going to happen.

Mariposa and Aliska exchanged a look. “One more place and then we go back to school.” Aliska told me.

No amount of protesting could dissuade the two.

okay guys, if you want more effect from here on I recommend listening to this music, it’s what I listened to while writing it

***

Screenshot-17

We ended up taking a taxi to the far side of town, where the only activity was the train that occaisionally passed through.

The taxi stopped near an abandoned plot of land and now I was more confused than ever. What could my sister and my girlfriend possibly want to do here?

Screenshot-18

We walked all the way to the nearby train track, before Aliska spun around to face me. I stopped walking, frowning at her, hoping she’d get the message and tell me what the hell was going on.

She started to take small confident steps backwards.

“Dear brother.” She began.

A train hooted in the distance as I looked at Mariposa to see if she knew what was going on.

She shrugged with a knowing smile.

“Thanks for all your hard work lately in helping me, I want to return the favor.”

Screenshot-19

Aliska stopped in the middle of the railway, the same smile plastered on her face.

‘What are you talking about?’ I signed at her. ‘Get off the railway.’

I added, getting slightly worried as I heard the train getting closer.

“I thought for a long while, of what I could do for you and thanks to some help I had a great idea!” She exclaimed.

Screenshot-20

“Since you did such an awesome job at helping me develop my power, whether you realized it or not, I thought I’d do the same for you. And here’s how I’m going to help you.” Aliska said, a sick smile on her face. The train was getting closer, I could hear it as clearly as my heart, the one that’s beating in my chest a little louder every second. “I’m going to stand right here until that train comes. And I’m not going to move. Nope, not an inch you don’t have to worry about that.”

I couldn’t believe my ears. I couldn’t believe my sister was doing this.

“And all you have to do is to control the train driver to make the train stop. Pretty simple no?” She finished.

Screenshot-21

I wasn’t okay with this at all. I wasn’t going to let my sister do something this stupid. I stepped forwards to grab her off the tracks when Mariposa’s arms encircled me from behind.

“At least do this for her?” Mariposa asked in her usual sweet tone. But it didn’t make me feel happy, content, no, it helped accentuate my feeling of panic. Something was so very wrong with this situation.

The train was passing through the forest right beside us.

I struggled against Mariposa’s hold, but she was surprisingly strong.

Screenshot-23

“It’s coming closer…you can do it James!” Aliska cheered.

I couldn’t help but stare at her calm and determined face. If I didn’t stop that train she really was simply going to stand there wasn’t she?

I stopped trying to break free and I concentrated. Closing my eyes, I opened my mind.

My time was running out and I had to go find the driver’s mind. Sure it’s simple if the person is right in front of me, but now they aren’t. I’ve even never met them before, I don’t know where they are, only somewhere to my right…but I had to do this.

I searched and searched as my hands started to tremble as my concentration kept getting shattered by the impending fact that the train kept getting closer and closer.

Screenshot-22

I couldn’t do it.

My eyes snapped open just as the train came out of the forest.

“You can do it.” Mariposa whispered in my ear.

“Come on James!” Aliska spread her arms out, her smile only growing larger, almost like she had a death wish.

My heart thumped painfully in my chest as defeat washed over me.

I couldn’t find the driver’s mind, I couldn’t connect with it! But my sister was going to kill herself if I didn’t do something!

Screenshot-24

I struggled one last time against Mariposa, but this time she let me go without any problem, but by then it was already too late for me to do anything physical.

“Oh well. It was worth a try.” Aliska said, shrugging nonchalantly.

Screenshot-25

No. No. NO! This wasn’t happening! I am not going to let this happen!

In one spontaneous action fueled by adrenaline I mentally shouted this order, and I would’ve screamed it if I had the vocal cords for it.

Screenshot-26

And then the most incredible thing happened.

Screenshot-27

I’m not too sure how I did it. Hell I’m not 100% sure I was the one who did. It seemed too surreal.

With no warning whatsoever, Aliska had lept forwards off the track, a look of pure surprise crossing her face at her own action. And at the same time, the train completely rolled onto its side, missing hitting Aliska by mere inches as it crashed off the tracks and skidded along the ground.

Screenshot-28

With a proud smile, Aliska skipped over and hugged me.

“I’m so proud of you James! You did a great job!” She said happily.

I was still under the shock of it. My hands were trembling as I hugged my sister back, glad she wasn’t dead.

Screenshot-29

I saw the view of the train behind. The train was nearing a station so it had already slowed down, which is probably why it didn’t ecplode or anything like that.

Weird. Right now I don’t really care if the driver survived or not. I’m just incredibly happy my sister is safe.

Screenshot-30

And…I admit I’m a little proud of what just happened. I mean…I’m that powerful? I can derail a train?

Screenshot-31

It begs the question.

What else can I do?

 

*takes deep breath* Yeeahhh that happened. I really genuinely worry about my poor Aliska.

In case anyone was wondering, this is where I got the train set: http://modthesims.info/d/416589

Also, it’s THE Caterpillar y’all;

The-Caterpillar-Character-Art-by-Alice-In-Wonderland-Character-Designer-Michael-Kutsche-alice-in-wonderland-2010-10708238-975-1200

 

About blamsart

♪They say it's what you make♪ I say it's up to fate ♪It's woven in my soul♪ I need to let you go♪ -- Demons by Imagine Dragons
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 7.13 – Off the tracks

  1. James, you have to get out of this tangled web those two are weaving. Break up with Mariposa and stop controlling people before you become addicted. You are traveling a dangerous path. You know it and you can’t seem to stop yourself. So ask for help, Jamie and Joshua will support you and give you the strength you need. Oh, James, do it for yourself.

    As for you, author, you are doing an amazing job. I don’t write to the characters in every Sim story I read. But I care for James, because of how you write him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • blamsart says:

      I’m with you on this. James needs to stop before he goes too far! Mariposa and Aliska are twisting his mind.

      Thank you very much! I understand what you mean, this is an amazing compliment 😀

      Like

  2. LoveLegacies says:

    The music fit perfectly! The train sound with the train wheel images… OMG!!!

    Like

  3. brainofivane says:

    Oh dear… James is drifting off to the dark side… O_O No, no, no… 😦 This is how addictions start… one compromise after another…

    Oooohhh… a truth see-er… he’s… uhh… cute… and of course this legacy really has something about eyes. White eyes. Gold eyes. Black eyes.

    I don’t like how they’re using James… and it saddens me that he can’t see it. 😥

    *knots form in my stomach* why is she standing on the track?! is she going to kill herself?

    Whaaat?! What is wrong with this kid?!

    Why couldn’t he just have controlled Aliska to get her off the track?

    Oh noooo… 😦 Oh no no no no no… Our James is getting corrupted little by little… 😦 (Yes… he’s not just your James anymore…)

    Like

    • blamsart says:

      It’s a question I asked myself as well and it came to me that ‘morally’ James can’t yet bring himself to even consider controlling his family counciously. A stranger is another thing, but a friend or family or someone close to him, it would feel too much like a betrayal to him. Of course, he doesn’t realize that yet.

      I have to share him now!? Oh shoot! Seems I have no choice.

      Like

      • brainofivane says:

        Well, you can’t make lovable characters then not want to share ’em… *firm nod*

        Lol… Really though… this gen is quickly becoming one of my favorites. Love what you’re doing with it and I couldn’t possibly predict where you might go with this…

        Like

        • blamsart says:

          It was my original goal, to make this gen the top, to best Cain’s generation!
          Indeed, the plans I have for James are extremely varied. I happy you guys are enjoying reading it, because I’m having one hell of a time writing it!

          Like

  4. Pingback: 8.32 – An eye for an eye | Light the way to heaven

  5. Livvielove says:

    Not thrilled with either of them, James… Run fast.
    Perfect music to accompany such a nerve wrecking chapter. I’m officially done with Aliska and stupid Mariposa. Over them. Purely over them.
    I don’t think James is running anywhere fast though (sighs)…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Emily Anne says:

    I really had to force myself to read that last bit. It was only after I skipped to the end to see that they all survived, just a little close to home. Good job, though. Loved the music especially, you have an awesome taste in music.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. *Mpart* says:

    I’m really worried about Aliska. She needs to get help…that girlfriend James has isn’t helping.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Skcaga6 says:

    I think all three of them need a good psychiatrist and a long grounding.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. OMG, what is going on with James? He’s such a teenager, being controlled by his hormones. Mariposa is such bad news… but I guess future relationships will only get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Trip says:

    That was a beautiful scene…like from one screenshotter to another. A truly ugly mark on everyone’s soul though. I’m probably a little more forgiving of James in that derailing moment than most readers, people panic after all. But it could be his downfall.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment